Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I agree with the users who said this cake absolutely fell apart. Unless you just want to sit it on a plate and ice it and leave it at that, don't bother with this. It's more trouble than it's worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
THIS WAS REALLY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I have made this cake at least three times in the past months and "Oh My"... it is so moist and really terrific...It is even better the next day, you can definately make ahead of the day you wish to serve it....I put coconut flavoring in both the cake and the frosting [about one teas in each] also I baked it in two round cake pans...."yummy"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I own a restaurant and Iwas looking for a good coconut cake and this was it.It sells out evreytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I made this cake tonight for my husbands birthday. It was wonderful! Very rich and moist. The frosting was yummy as well. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This recipe was excellent!! I made this for my husband's birthday cake. He loves coconut so I made a couple of changes to the recipe. I added coconut extract to the cake batter and to the icing. I also mixed about 1/4 cup of flaked coconut into the icing and then toasted flaked coconut and put it on top of the cake. I let it sit in the refridgerator overnight and it was perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I needed a quick coconut cake recipe since I didn't have the 3-4 days to make my usual recipe. Thought this was it, sounded great and thought I could pull it off with all the wonderful tips from reviewers, and incorporated a few minor changes myself. Was quite disappointed. If you like a real strong coconut flavor in your cake, this recipe is not for you. Even though I added coconut extract to the mix, and cream of coconut to the frosting and covered the layers with flake cocnut after frosting, it still only slightly resembled a potent coconut cake. It's a good idea, and very simple to put together but I will probably not make this again. I give it 3 only because the frosting was tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
delicious and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Great recipe for cupcakes. I made a few changes. I used French Vanilla cake mix (it was all I had). I added 1/3 oil, 1 cup Milk, 3 tsp. coconut extract in place of the coconut cream. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
As for making it directly from the recipe listed, this cake tastes no different than making it straight from the box. If you use just the coconut cream, sure it tastes good from the can, but it just gets so overwhelmed by the cake mix. I even tried putting it in the frosting (and I made a chocolate decorator frosting with some too) and I just couldn't taste it. I just don't think it's concentrated enough to use it as a flavouring in such small amounts with tons and tons of sugar just kind of ruining the flavour. So, overall: the cake was good, but hardly a coconut cake. Tastes nothing like coconut without modifications to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raynham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States