Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I made this cake for Christmas. Everybody loved it, but I was disappointed because I didn't taste any coconut. Because no one knew it was supposed to be coconut, they didn't know what to expect. The consistancy was great. I would make this cake again and pass it off as a white cake, not as a coconut cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Kinda disappointing. I made the recipe as written. I am giving it a 3 - lacked coconut flavor.It seemed all the flavor came from the frosting. Good for people who don't especially like coconut,I guess, but I love it & expecting a pronounced coconut flavor.It is a very moist & tender cake though. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Awesome Cake! FAST and EASY (My kind of cooking/baking.) I have trouble with frosting cakes... so I made this into a bundt cake and drizzled the frosting over it (which meant that I had to cut the recipe in half for the frosting and used Coconut Rum instead of Milk... heeeheee). I "SO" wanted to take the credit for this cake when all my friends raved about, it but I couldn't.......THANKS Corinne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
I have to make this cake whenever there is a gathering. Everyone enjoys it! I add the entire can of cream of coconut to the mixture. This cake is kid-friendly as well! When you make the cake, be prepared for people to ask for the recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This cake is so moist and delicious. I made a two layer cake and put a layer of pineapple in between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
Great cake! I made this for a birthday "luau" and it was a hit. I did change a couple things to lighten it up a bit. I used a light coconut milk for the cream of coconut, and fat free sour cream. I baked it the night before and frosted it the next day. As another reviewer suggested I used almond extract instead of vanilla and used alot more coconut on top. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Good cake but not what I was hoping for. Sorry, not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Nice and moist, but I didn't like the icing very much. It was runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAKEGODDES

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
What a delicious cake! I made it for Easter and it was a hit. I just made some minor modifications--I reduced the sugar in the frosting by a cup, used almond extract instead of the vanilla and put alot more coconut on top too. I also added a little coconut to the batter too. The cream of coconut and sour cream made the cake so moist and flavorful. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
This cake is wonderful. Simply. but oh so moist and rich. And that was what I was looking for. I did top it with more than 2 T of flaked coconut though. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States