Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
People couldn't stop talking about this cake! It's so moist (especially if you pour remaining coconut milk over warm cake)... I used only 3 cups sugar for frosting, and coconut milk instead of regular. Also, added coconut extract to cake and frosting. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I'm not much of a cake eater--the only one I would eat was my mom's molasses cake--but this one is soooooo hard to refuse--it is now my favorite cake of all time--absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
my co-workers raved about this cake! I live at a high altitude, 7000 ft. so I added 2 TBS. flour and used 1/8 cup oil. I used a bundt cake pan. made frosting with 1/2 butter 1/2 cream cheese, coconut extract and used left over cream of coconut instead of milk. I have made this twice with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
so, so, so good!!! I made this for an office party, and they cleaned it up! Definitely not for those trying to cut back on calories, but worth every bite as a special treat. For a lighter version, instead of the frosting in the recipe, use Cool Whip Lite and stir in the shredded coconut. Also, after taking the cake out of the oven, I poked holes in it with a fork and poured the remaining cream of coconut over the top, letting it soak in thru the fork holes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I've made this cake twice, most recently using a chocolate cake mix and coconut milk instead of cream of coconut. SUBSTITUTE COCONUT EXTRACT FOR THE VANILLA!It comes out beautifully no matter what substitutions I made. I made it in a bundt cake pan and split it and filled and frosted it. It made a really pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This cake was absolutely divine with these changes: 4 egg whites, beaten (instead of 3 whole eggs) causes it to rise more. for the frosting i used 4 oz cream cheese and 4 oz butter so it wasn't too sweet. I also substituted the milk for leftover cream of coconut. You can never go wrong adding a little almond extract to any recipe. I baked it in 3 8" round pans. Came out perfect! Gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
very rich and sweet. so if you are up for that then dig in. was fun to try. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Delicious! I made this as a 2 layer birthday cake and it was moist and still very light. I could not use the icing (too runny) so I made fluffy white butter cream frosting with almond and sprinkled coconut all over the middle layer, top and sides. Very pretty and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
I used a different icing, but the cake was awesome. Great consistency, and the cream of coconut doesn't give it a coconut flavor, so it tastes like a great white cake. I will probably use it as a white cake from now on. I used a combination of light and fat free sour cream and baked in 2 9-inch round pans for a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I made this cake for Christmas. Everybody loved it, but I was disappointed because I didn't taste any coconut. Because no one knew it was supposed to be coconut, they didn't know what to expect. The consistancy was great. I would make this cake again and pass it off as a white cake, not as a coconut cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States