Cream of Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
AWESOME is an under statement! My family and I love this cake. It's easy to prepare too! I have to fix this cake , so often that I leave ingredents at my relatives houses out of state. My sister love's the icying she reminds me of a child waitng for the bowl that Grandma use to save for us! LOVE is a great word for this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
People couldn't stop talking about this cake! It's so moist (especially if you pour remaining coconut milk over warm cake)... I used only 3 cups sugar for frosting, and coconut milk instead of regular. Also, added coconut extract to cake and frosting. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylistmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
I'm not much of a cake eater--the only one I would eat was my mom's molasses cake--but this one is soooooo hard to refuse--it is now my favorite cake of all time--absolutely fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
my co-workers raved about this cake! I live at a high altitude, 7000 ft. so I added 2 TBS. flour and used 1/8 cup oil. I used a bundt cake pan. made frosting with 1/2 butter 1/2 cream cheese, coconut extract and used left over cream of coconut instead of milk. I have made this twice with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
so, so, so good!!! I made this for an office party, and they cleaned it up! Definitely not for those trying to cut back on calories, but worth every bite as a special treat. For a lighter version, instead of the frosting in the recipe, use Cool Whip Lite and stir in the shredded coconut. Also, after taking the cake out of the oven, I poked holes in it with a fork and poured the remaining cream of coconut over the top, letting it soak in thru the fork holes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2005
I've made this cake twice, most recently using a chocolate cake mix and coconut milk instead of cream of coconut. SUBSTITUTE COCONUT EXTRACT FOR THE VANILLA!It comes out beautifully no matter what substitutions I made. I made it in a bundt cake pan and split it and filled and frosted it. It made a really pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
This cake was absolutely divine with these changes: 4 egg whites, beaten (instead of 3 whole eggs) causes it to rise more. for the frosting i used 4 oz cream cheese and 4 oz butter so it wasn't too sweet. I also substituted the milk for leftover cream of coconut. You can never go wrong adding a little almond extract to any recipe. I baked it in 3 8" round pans. Came out perfect! Gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
very rich and sweet. so if you are up for that then dig in. was fun to try. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Delicious! I made this as a 2 layer birthday cake and it was moist and still very light. I could not use the icing (too runny) so I made fluffy white butter cream frosting with almond and sprinkled coconut all over the middle layer, top and sides. Very pretty and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
I used a different icing, but the cake was awesome. Great consistency, and the cream of coconut doesn't give it a coconut flavor, so it tastes like a great white cake. I will probably use it as a white cake from now on. I used a combination of light and fat free sour cream and baked in 2 9-inch round pans for a layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States