Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is a wonderful, thick and creamy, tummy pleasing soup, but I did make a few changes to the recipe. Too lazy to make homemade broth, I used boxed chicken broth instead of the water, and added leftover cooked chicken I had in the fridge. Not a fan of vegetable oil, I sauteed the onions and celery in butter. I didn't have any wild rice on hand, but I did have a box of Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice, and I found the accompanying seasoning packet provided a bonus of flavor. The wine is a must and should not be omitted. This is a keeper recipe, with room for personal touches and variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
I added flavor in my preparation, hence the 3 star rating on the basic recipe which I thought would be too bland as written...I need my garlic. The end result was amazing (better than any restaurant version) and well worth the time. My significant changes: 1)Three dried bay leaves added to simmering chicken; 2)replaced fresh mushrooms with 1/2oz of dried chopped up porcini mushrooms to the soup,the flavor was amazing; 3)sauted four chopped garlic cloves with veggies, 4)added wine right after sauteing veggies rather than at end of recipe; 5)added a handful of fresh sage leaves towards end of cooking because I have them (dried sage, thyme, rosemary or other aromatic herb would be great, but added earlier); 6)increased salt and black pepper to taste. 7) I used 3 bone-in chicken breasts (plenty of meat) and substituted 5 cups of homemade stock and 2 cups for remaining water in recipe 8) butter instead of margarine. This recipe is a great starting point, but needs your personal touch to make it truly spectacular! I've made this with and without wine, it really makes a difference. So does the dried porcini. Regular mushrooms just don't add the drool-worthy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! It reminds me of the soup at Panera Bread. I made a couple of changes. I use boneless chicken breasts, which I cook the day before to make it less time-consuming. I couldn't find wild rice by itself, so I buy two boxes of Uncle Ben's and cook it without the butter or seasoning packets. I use 3 cups whole milk and one cup heavy cream, and 4 cups store-bought chicken broth with 3 cups of water from boiling the chicken. I serve it with Pepperidge Farm Sourdough Artisan bread and salad. It takes a while to make the soup, but it's totally worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by H@ppy2BHere

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2007
I liked this recipe, though it was labor intensive. For those who had trouble with the soup not being thick enough, keep in mind you really have to stir the milk in the flour/butter roux for quite a while on medium heat. It takes about 15 minutes for it to get thick enough, and it should get so thick that it's tiring to keep whisking it. It might not seem like it's going to thicken but keep at it and it will. I didn't use bouillon but seasoned the water that I boiled the chiken in with lots of celery, garlic cloves, salt and pepper. It was still a little bland so I added a few dashes of worcestishire sauce and it was fine. I might put a little less wine in mine next time, it was a bit overpowering. I used Sauvignon Blanc but I think sherry might taste better. Real wild rice is the key in this, I think. Very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
I LOVE this recipe and have made it again and again. My friends also request this recipe when I make it. I substitute two cans of mushrooms for the fresh mushrooms and then I cook the wild rice in a chicken broth. I also sautee the onions and celery in butter instead of oil and add some extra salt and it is WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karin
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Yum! I love a good thick soup... and this one did not disappoint... great flavor and consistancy...I did add a little garlic to the oil...and then added the vegies. (what can you do I am an Italian stereo type) I also used fresh cracked black pepper instead of white ground pepper. To speed up the recipe... you can use boneless skinless chicken breasts...boil those...and use 7 cups of chicken broth instead of the boullion cubes and reserved stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This was the best tasting chicken wild rice soup I have ever had, other than going to a fine restaurant. My family loved it. However instead of 4 cups milk I added 3 cups milk and 1 cup half and half. Instead of 1 cup chopped onion (we don't like onion) I added 1 tablespoon dried minced onion. I added 3 tablespoons chicken base instead of 2 tablespoons chicken bouillon. It was truly outstanding!!!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
I absolutely loved this recipe! My fiance is a huge chicken/wild rice soup fan. When we go out to eat, it's his soup of choice. I tried this recipe out on him and he said it was as good, if not better than the places we eat out at. It's in my recipe box already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Great recipe but a bit bland. I used 4 cans of chicken broth instead of 7 cups water and that absolutely did the trick. I also used 5 minute wild rice which I cooked for two minutes, drained, and added at the very end. I omitted the wine but I'm sure it would be great with it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
this was a great soup. Even though at first it didn't look like it was going to be thick like wild rice soup should be. I put carrots in it. I think it was missing a little something, then I ate it with saltines and wa la. Also better second day. From now on when I make this I will refridgerate it over night and eat next day to ensure the thickness I like. Thank you. I love chicken wild rice soup and even though I live in MN alot restaraunts don't serve it consistantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States