Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
States it feed 8. More like 16.This was a great soup. My family loved it. Nice to have a soup recipe that didn't call for a condensed soup. I left out the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Loved the flavor. I shredded 6 chicken breasts, accidentally dumped the water it cooked in..so I added extra bullion and new water. I also added Cream of Sherry, some red pepper flakes and I think I will double the rice next time. Over all, LOVED it. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel-Honey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Very bland...needs a lot of seasoning up. I added garlic salt (would have sauteed garlic with vegetables if I knew it would have needed them), ground sage, rosemary, and thyme. It is a decent starter recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Delicious, great on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missylou

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Perkinston, Mississippi, USA
Photo by HJCARY
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
My husband and I loved this. We made it with the San Francisco Sourdough Bread on this site. Its creamy and hearty. We did mince some carrot to give it some color but other then that followed the recipe exactly. We will be making again. My husband wants to take it to a potluck in a couple weeks at his work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HJCARY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This soup is an after Thanksgiving tradition for my family. It has replaced Chook! We also add in Rotisserie chicken from the store. We leave out the white wine; I think it kills the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Take a while to make, if you're in a hurry (work full time + wifey). If not, it's worth the wait. Very delicious! I would make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanna be cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Only omitted the mushrooms! DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Awesome soup!!! Time consuming - yes, but so well worth it. I sauted the veggies in butter and added a cup of diced carrots and 2 cups of fresh mushrooms. A few reviewers commented that it takes long to thicken the roux. It does, but continue whisking and you will end up with a nice thick roux to add to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I grilled my chicken breasts after marinating them in balsamic dressing on my George Foreman grill. All drippings were added. I decreased the amount of water to about 2-3 cups and added carrot, fresh parsley and doubled the mushrooms (portabellos). I used real wild rice and the color is much more of a burgundy than the picture on the recipe. I used a Reisling based on other comments, lightened and brightened it right up. I'm the Soup Nazi and this one made in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States