Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This recipe is fabulous! I tweak it just a tad to suit our tastes. I always get rave reviews and recipe requests when I serve this to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by periwinkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I loved this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I've made this before, and it was wonderful. Question: Does this soup freeze well? I'm hesitant, since there is milk in it. Feedback?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I have searched everywhere for a soup that matched the wonderful taste of Panera's Cream of Chicken and Wild Rice and this is it-- I made a few changes, though- First, I exchanged the water with Chicken broth, got rid of the cubes, and, in place of the mushrooms and onions I added carrots & peas I had boiled for about 10 minutes before adding them (it seemed to make it more child friendly). I also found those packages of precooked diced chicken breast at the grocery store- used two packages, as well as Uncle Ben's Wild Rice mix instead of plain old wild rice. I also added Spice Islands garlic and herb mix to counteract the natural sweetness of the chicken. I wanted mine really creamy so I exchanged one of the cups of milk for a cup of cream-delish! These changes saved a lot of time and some of them actually enhanced the flavor of this amazing recipe! My friend's fourteen year old sister came back for thirds and she's the pickiest eater in the world. I will DEFINATELY be making this a lot in the future- especially over those chilly winter months! Thanks again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Labor of love. Worth the effort. Upgrades: Used a larger whole, chicken (more like 7 #), so every bite had MMM. Sauted with garlic. Added half box of Uncl Ben's wild rice. Added Carrots at end. Made for large group. Night 2, had to add chicken broth when re-heating. Better reviews night 2!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This recipe was quick and easy, and as my husband says "The best soup he has ever had". One side item. I didn't have a lot of time, so I used rotisserie chicken and 48oz of chicken stock instead of water. Everything else I kept the same. The chicken granules gives awesome flavor. I cannot wait to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
this soup is great. i think the directions could be made easier to save some time though. i cooked the chicken then took it out of the pot. i then poured the broth throgh a strainer and poured it back into the pot. i brought the broth to a boil and added carrots,onion, and celery, and a cayeene pepper[w/o seeds] i let it boil for 10 min. then i added 2 boxes of rice a roni long grain and wild rice and the chicken reduced the heat to med/lo and simmered for 25 min. while that is simmering i mixed the butter,flour,and milk to make the sauce when it was thick i poured it into the pot w/ everything else stirred it in good and seasoned to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Everybody loved it! The only things I changed were; butter instead of oil, added garlic, used portobello mushrooms, no celery.It is very labor-intensive, so make sure you have enough time or, like I did, do your broth and chicken ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very bland! I ended up using a lot more soup base. Carrots would have been a nice flavor addition. Used butter instead of margarine. Seems silly to use fake butter after going to the trouble of making stock. The fat/flour ratio was wrong and should have been equal amounts. The flour made the dish gummy and should have had heavy cream instead of milk and flour. All in all needs way too much tweaking to bother with again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Thanks to all for the suggested substitutions. I followed the recipe except I used the suggested porcini mushrooms, bay leaves and Uncle Bens w/seasoning pack. My substitutions included making the broth from backs and wings that I keep in a freezer bag. Simmered about 2 hours w/onions, celery, bay leaf. Drain, discard the meat and bones. I then cut up a honey rotisserie chicken purchased from the market and added (great flavor!). I partially cooked the rice w/ seasoning packet then added to broth. I did not use milk in my roux. I instead used the water from the reconstitute dried mushrooms and extra chicken broth. Tastes wonderful the next day. Rich, creamy and thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States