Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I followed this pretty much to the letter. I do not like celery so I quartered it and pulled it out before adding the milk mixture. That way you get the flavor not the texture. I also left out the butter. Instead I skimmed the top of the liquid from the stock. My husband and I loved this. It is in my box already. A little labor intensive but definately worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Great recipe. The whole family loved it (the wine was omitted).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
My family loves this soup! I make it at least twice a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Pretty tasty with a good flavor. I feel like it was missing something. Next time I think I'll add some carrots and maybe some more wild rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Oh.my.goodness this was delicious!!!! This was my first attempt making a cream soup so I was a little nervous but this turned out soooo yummy!! I followed the recipe pretty closely but took some suggestions from other reviewers. I bought a rotisserie chicken and used boxed chicken stock. I also sauteed the onion and celery in butter instead of oil and added some freshly minced garlic. I also added frozen carrots (chopped them a bit before adding to the soup) and a bay leaf. I left out the mushrooms because nobody likes them but me. I also left out the white wine just because I didn't have any and didn't want to buy a whole bottle just for the recipe. We all loved this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing...I'll be making it often now that the weather is turning cooler. Oh, and this only took about an hour from beginning to end because I took the shortcut of using the rotisserie chicken and store bought chicken stock. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
soooooo good. Make sure you have a day set aside to make it, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christyn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I just made this and thought it was very good! I did exchange the oil and margarine for real butter and exchanged one cup of heavy cream for one cup of milk. I also added tyme and alittle allspice to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lask2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This was delicious!! I live in a small town in Argentina so I didn't have wild rice but brown rice worked just great. I also didn't have celery or mushrooms on hand but added carrots and was good without the other two. I can't wait to share this soup with my Argentine friends....yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Great recipe! I did add a bay leaf and 2 mashed garlic cloves while cooked the chicken to give it more flavor. I also added fresh ground pepper and parsley flakes towards the end. I didn't think it was enough mushrooms so I did 2 cups instead of 1. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Delicious!!! This was my first attempt at making soup. Family loved it. Like another reviewer I used a boxed stock. I also used heavy cream instead of milk. Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States