Cream of Chicken with Wild Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
this is a delicious recipe! well worth the work involved. i've made it several times. i use butter instead of margarine and skim milk. i add carrots and skip the wine. if you are using a fatty chicken, be sure to skim the fat off the chicken broth before adding anything to it - this will greatly reduce the fat seperating from the broth in the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
pretty bland and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I make this over and over. Great flavors and wonderful textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieDirt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Great! My husband loves this. It tasted very close to a soup that I once had in a restaurant. I did add about 1/4 cup flour at the end to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is a wonderful, thick and creamy, tummy pleasing soup, but I did make a few changes to the recipe. Too lazy to make homemade broth, I used boxed chicken broth instead of the water, and added leftover cooked chicken I had in the fridge. Not a fan of vegetable oil, I sauteed the onions and celery in butter. I didn't have any wild rice on hand, but I did have a box of Uncle Ben's long grain and wild rice, and I found the accompanying seasoning packet provided a bonus of flavor. The wine is a must and should not be omitted. This is a keeper recipe, with room for personal touches and variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This recipe was a great start to what I was looking for. I made it exactly as directed, minus one of the cups of water. After tasting it like others, it was good but needed something more. I added a bay leaf and chopped garlic (about a tablespoon!). I agree that if you have patience, the white sauce will thicken quite a bit. I added it to the soup slowly and at this point, it is a thinner cream soup. I cooked it down for another hour and it got nice and thick. I also added some Marsala wine for one last kick. So my version is Cream of Chicken Marsala with Wild Rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBUNNUMS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
My absolute favorite!!! Love this soup at Panera and I think this recipe is even better! Would make this anytime. I used chicken thighs bonless and skinless to save time and work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Candia, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
My twin daughters love the Cream of Chicken and Wild Rice soup at Panera Bread (bakery chain)and I was looking for a recipe that would duplicate what they liked. This soup is even better. Not low cal but DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
This was absolutely delicious! I made it easy on myself and bought a rotesserie chicken & used that microwavable wild rice (didn't cook it, just popped it in the pot). It turned out great, I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
This soup was pretty good. I had to doctor it quite a bit. Added extra salt and garlic. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calhoun, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States