Cream of Chicken and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very good base for a soup, I did make a few changes I used Light cream instead of Heavy, Instead of water I used chicken broth, I added two extra potatoes and a bunch of different frozen veggies, I let it cook a little longer, but it was worth the wait. Both kids loved it and want me to make it again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Keep it Light!I substitued the milk for 1% milk, and the heavy cream with Non Fat 1/2 & 1/2. Not a fan of cumin so I used the Thyme & a bay leaf. Also shortened the whole process with leftover chopped chicken and new potatoes, threw in some bacon lite bits. sprinkled with cilantro-Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This soup is EXCELLENT with a few modifications. I added a little less than 1/2 tsp of cumin and is that a typo re: the heavy cream?!?!? I put in 1/2 pint of heavy cream and mine turned at excellent. I also add some carrot slivers and cut up about 4 pieces of celery. YUM YUM! Made it with beer bread and the family went crazy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
This is a really good recipe. I did nmake some modifications. I used light cream instead of heavy cream, and used chicken stock instead of water. I also added some celery and shredded carrots.I did not add the cumin. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Tasty and inexpensive. A great way to use leftover chicken. I also added some frozen corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Princess Dork

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Really liked this recipe! I made it the first cold day of fall and it really hit the spot. My husband loved it! He not only had it for dinner, but 3 bowls of it for lunch the next day. Thanks You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I skipped the chives, parsley and garlic powder and I used margarine and whole wheat flour (instead of the called-for ingredients) because of what I had in the house. I also used the meat from pre-cooked chicken leg quarters, and I believe this gave the soup more flavor. I also brought it to a low boil before simmering, thinking I was supposed to do that. I pack this in my daughter's thermos for lunch at school and she loves it! Cook it on a Sunday night and you have enough for a few days! We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethpage, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
This soup was excellent, I did make one change, added 1/2 cup shredded cheese at end of cook time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This soup was delicious, especially after being refrigerated overnight! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYG26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
I want to try this but I'm not sure about those two QUARTS of heavy cream. That can't be right... ???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States