Cream of Chicken and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This had way too much cumin, thyme and black pepper for me. I added a bunch of vegetables, potato flakes and a can of creamed corn to salvage it. After all that, my husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I only had half and half so I used that instead of heavy cream. I also had plenty of milk but not enough half and half so I switched their volumes and the soup still turned out great. I went light on the garlic and the cumin (by half) and it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I made this soup for the first time. Probably the tastiest flavorful soup I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was good, but way too rich for me, even though I subbed half and half for one qt of the heavy cream. My potatoes were really small, so I used 9 of them. If I were to make this again (I doubt that I will), I would dice them much smaller or even cook them and puree the entire thing before adding the chicken. I diced the chicken pretty small and that was better than having big chunks. The onion pieces were disconcerting somehow, I think because of the texture of the cream "broth." So I think it would benefit from having the onion pureed and possibly some or all of the potato as well. ETA: I found that the soup was just as good cold as it had been hot, and I had a lot left over, so I tried freezing some and reheating it. It reheated very well, the texture did not suffer at all and the flavor was even better. I might make this again after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. I read other reviews and they should be quiet. No need to add anything. This is 100% DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Noe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this soup without the cumin or the fresh chives, because I didn't have any. I used dried chives instead. It was phenomenal! I have made it twice now, both times with excellent reviews! I want to try and make it next tim substituting half and half for one of the quarts of heavy cream...oh, and I used fat free half and half the 2nd time I made it - it was JUST as amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My husband loved this soup and he is hard to please.He also liked it on bagels/egg/cheese and sauce on top.We also decided it would be good on pasta. The soup is very creamy and wonderful flavor, I added more garlic/onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincolnton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Put everything in crockpot without the floured first ingredients. Added cream at end (but only 1 cup). Added 2 cans corn, 3 can green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sriyani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very good base for a soup, I did make a few changes I used Light cream instead of Heavy, Instead of water I used chicken broth, I added two extra potatoes and a bunch of different frozen veggies, I let it cook a little longer, but it was worth the wait. Both kids loved it and want me to make it again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Keep it Light!I substitued the milk for 1% milk, and the heavy cream with Non Fat 1/2 & 1/2. Not a fan of cumin so I used the Thyme & a bay leaf. Also shortened the whole process with leftover chopped chicken and new potatoes, threw in some bacon lite bits. sprinkled with cilantro-Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States