Cream of Chicken and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This had way too much cumin, thyme and black pepper for me. I added a bunch of vegetables, potato flakes and a can of creamed corn to salvage it. After all that, my husband really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I only had half and half so I used that instead of heavy cream. I also had plenty of milk but not enough half and half so I switched their volumes and the soup still turned out great. I went light on the garlic and the cumin (by half) and it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I made this soup for the first time. Probably the tastiest flavorful soup I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was good, but way too rich for me, even though I subbed half and half for one qt of the heavy cream. My potatoes were really small, so I used 9 of them. If I were to make this again (I doubt that I will), I would dice them much smaller or even cook them and puree the entire thing before adding the chicken. I diced the chicken pretty small and that was better than having big chunks. The onion pieces were disconcerting somehow, I think because of the texture of the cream "broth." So I think it would benefit from having the onion pureed and possibly some or all of the potato as well. ETA: I found that the soup was just as good cold as it had been hot, and I had a lot left over, so I tried freezing some and reheating it. It reheated very well, the texture did not suffer at all and the flavor was even better. I might make this again after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This recipe is fantastic. I read other reviews and they should be quiet. No need to add anything. This is 100% DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Noe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this soup without the cumin or the fresh chives, because I didn't have any. I used dried chives instead. It was phenomenal! I have made it twice now, both times with excellent reviews! I want to try and make it next tim substituting half and half for one of the quarts of heavy cream...oh, and I used fat free half and half the 2nd time I made it - it was JUST as amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My husband loved this soup and he is hard to please.He also liked it on bagels/egg/cheese and sauce on top.We also decided it would be good on pasta. The soup is very creamy and wonderful flavor, I added more garlic/onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincolnton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
Put everything in crockpot without the floured first ingredients. Added cream at end (but only 1 cup). Added 2 cans corn, 3 can green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sriyani

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Very good base for a soup, I did make a few changes I used Light cream instead of Heavy, Instead of water I used chicken broth, I added two extra potatoes and a bunch of different frozen veggies, I let it cook a little longer, but it was worth the wait. Both kids loved it and want me to make it again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Keep it Light!I substitued the milk for 1% milk, and the heavy cream with Non Fat 1/2 & 1/2. Not a fan of cumin so I used the Thyme & a bay leaf. Also shortened the whole process with leftover chopped chicken and new potatoes, threw in some bacon lite bits. sprinkled with cilantro-Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States