Cream of Chicken Soup From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BabyDollPie
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Hi to anyone considering this recipe. I just wanted to let you all know this recipe is for CONDENSED cream of chicken. It will be just as thick as the canned stuff. Also, if you use pan drippings from a roast chicken it tastes worlds better!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabyDollPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Guess I get to be the first party pooper for this recipe. This is one of the worst things I've ever made on here. It should be made clear that it's *condensed* soup - people also just plain eat cream of chicken soup. One shouldn't have to discover this from reading a review. But, I just switched gears & dug up a super easy recipe using the condensed soup, so that wasn't a huge deal. But then it got worse. First, I don't see how one can "whisk" the flour & milk - it's VERY thick and did nothing but get stuck in my whisk, which was difficult to get out of there. The "milk mixture" (more like "flour glob mixture") should NOT be whisked into the hot milk. You put liquid into globby stuff, not the other way around. So I put a little of the hot milk into the flour glob, adding more, until it was a consistency that I could put that in the pan. And no way to avoid lumps. And that's considering I can make almost anything with ZERO lumps, but this was more like big clumps. And after this big mess and hassle, it doesn't taste a thing like condensed cream of chicken soup, which has a fairly strong flavor. It had NO chicken flavor, and tasted like peppered flour, more like something I'd dredge chicken in. Speaking of flour - WOW!! Lot of flour! The recipes I used it for were boring - tried adding some chicken bouillon but didn't help much. Still tasted like peppered flour. It would be less hassle and take less time making the trip for the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Ran out of cream of mushroom soup for another recipe so converted this recipe. Left out the lemon pepper, paprika and replaced the chicken broth with beef broth, and added mushrooms for a quick cream of mushroom soup. Without your recipe I would not have known where to begin, short of going back to the grocery store. I am sure I will be giving the chicken a try too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I followed this (except for the spices because I was out) and it turned out really well. Perfect in my recipe for Chicken Vol au Vent. It did thicken up really quickly and I had to add more milk to get it to the right consistency. Great base but it is definitely a condensed soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chamomille

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is a really tasty recipe for condensed cream of chicken soup. We have to cook gluten free in our home, so a simple switch of flour and we have a gluten free soup base for many of my casserole recipies. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
this worked perfectly for a crock pot recipe i had - no one could tell the difference at all! great idea, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
@erimess - the directions clearly state that you are to make a slurry with the flour and remainder of COLD milk. I think you didn't follow the recipe correctly, and because of that your review is extremely unfair and inaccurate. I followed the directions except I halved he recipe (only needed one can of soup) - it turned out great and I was very pleased with the results. Thank you for providing this excellent base and substitute for the canned stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this gluten free w/Bob's Red Mill all purpose flour and added some garlic salt to it to bring up the flavor. It doesn't need the lemon pepper seasoning. It can easily be made into cream of mushroom by adding ~1 cup finely diced mushrooms when you add in the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Okay, don't get mad folks (or submitter) but this is backwards on technique. A flour/butter roux should be made first and then slowly adding liquids. Yes, with recipe amount of flour it will be a condensed type of soup. So, the 3 stars is due to odd cooking instructions. Now, this is just a "FYI" - but I decided to create my own version of this soup (which is located in my "recipe box"). I thought I'd share and made it public so if anyone cares to, they can check it out. I'm not sure if I plan to submit it with Allrecipes just yet so that's the only reason I mention it. The seasonings and most ingredients in this recipe is what inspired me - so thanks for that BabyDollPie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was an excellent alternative to canned cream of chicken soup. I generally find the canned stuff a little gross, and since my husband has a gluten sensitivity, we can't use it anyway. I used this in a casserole, and it was great! I used half and half only because our milk had expired. And we used gluten-free flour instead of wheat flour. But it thickened up really well and smelled delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States