Cream of Chicken Soup From Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Okay, don't get mad folks (or submitter) but this is backwards on technique. A flour/butter roux should be made first and then slowly adding liquids. Yes, with recipe amount of flour it will be a condensed type of soup. So, the 3 stars is due to odd cooking instructions. Now, this is just a "FYI" - but I decided to create my own version of this soup (which is located in my "recipe box"). I thought I'd share and made it public so if anyone cares to, they can check it out. I'm not sure if I plan to submit it with Allrecipes just yet so that's the only reason I mention it. The seasonings and most ingredients in this recipe is what inspired me - so thanks for that BabyDollPie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
So so so so so easy to make instead of just opening a can of that gloppy stuff (which I do still use from time to time, but not every time). I cooked my onion and garlic in canola oil. I didn't add all the seasonings because I was using this in a king ranch mac and cheese recipe that had lots of seasonings. I did scale the measurements down for just enough for one "can".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
First, thank you for a recipe that is all from scratch! :) Second, I love this recipe, use it as often as I can- never like to use cans so I sub this in all of those recipes. It is a great base and lends well to whatever flavors you want. Just personalize the seasoning to your taste. The broth/stock is also going to affect flavor so use what you like. I sometimes use all broth- no milk- and stir in cheddar cheese... Goes great with chicken and broccoli. I also use this base with taco seasoning, mexican cheese, diced green chilies and shredded chicken for the BEST chicken enchiladas. :) This is one of my top five recipes since joining. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I made this gluten free w/Bob's Red Mill all purpose flour and added some garlic salt to it to bring up the flavor. It doesn't need the lemon pepper seasoning. It can easily be made into cream of mushroom by adding ~1 cup finely diced mushrooms when you add in the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This works wonderfully. I will use this over and over again. I used one recipe for a casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
I was looking for a condensed cream of chicken from scratch and this was perfect! If you don't want condensed use less flour. It was lumpy for me though and I had to put it through the processor. Next time I'll make a rue in another pot and then add it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunlitme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Very tasty! I had been looking for a good condensed soup recipe for a long time! I've been wanting to avoid the MSG and additives in the canned version. This worked great in a chicken casserole. I mixed half of the soup (froze the other half for later use) with a cup of plain whole-milk yogurt, spread over chicken breasts, baked and served with brown rice. My husband and kids (ages 4, 2.5 and 1) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was an excellent alternative to canned cream of chicken soup. I generally find the canned stuff a little gross, and since my husband has a gluten sensitivity, we can't use it anyway. I used this in a casserole, and it was great! I used half and half only because our milk had expired. And we used gluten-free flour instead of wheat flour. But it thickened up really well and smelled delicious! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is a really tasty recipe for condensed cream of chicken soup. We have to cook gluten free in our home, so a simple switch of flour and we have a gluten free soup base for many of my casserole recipies. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Made it with extra garlic and spices and it tasted good. However, I have no idea how anyone can make it without lumps by following this recipe. I had to blend it to make it smooth. Next time I will try to whisk the hot mix into the milk mix like another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States