Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Note: One standard bunch of celery stalks is about 1.5lbs (minus leaves and the base). I used skim milk and half the amount of butter / margarine, and it was still creamy and tasty. I did not strain out the vegetables because they are good for you! Another alternative would be to puree the soup before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I made 8 servings (which was 3 lunch servings for me, since I ate just the soup for lunch). I followed the recipe with the differences pointed out by WONDERFALK (the author), which involved discarding half the celery and blending the remainder of the celery and veggies after boiling for 10 min. I also used butter since I didn't have margarine, but that's hardly worth noting. It's definitely a warm and comforting meal and stands on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
I usually find that with 4 or better star rating with more than 100 reviews the recipe is great, but in this case, it was truly not worth the effort! First, I needed 2 large pots because it overflowed. This recipe is enough to feed an army. Second, given the qualities it was a lot of trouble and the soup was mediocre at best. Would not make again, and will continue to look for another recipe. The only reason I did not give it 1 star is that you could eat it, it was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Very good! I also chose to keep the veggies! I also chose not to blend them. I prefer my soup to have more texture. Plus, with the added texture, it would be very easy to add ham for some added protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Tried it and added red and yellow peppers (just because I had them in the fridge) and also added more pepper. After the veggies softened I put them in the blender to puree. The soup is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Letcher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I omitted the carrots, but added chopped broccoli stalks instead. Once the veggies were well cooked, I removed them from the stock and used a hand blender to turn them into a mush. Then I added them back to the stock. It made enough for countless meals. And delicious! Steve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Just whipped this up and taking a mug to bed for a nap (had our first snow today to time to hibernate). First of all, for those who might think to skip this step, putting it through the sieve is a must as the celery is very stringy and you want that out of the soup. I pressed as much liquid and flavour out as possible, even ran it through a mixer to get as much goodness out as I could. Ndefinately worth the step as you now have a velvety smooth soup. Topped it with some grated garlic sea salt and it's OH SO YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Mine needed more salt and also added minced garlic. Still cooking as I write this but I intend on leaving the veggies in. Had a taste and it's delish so far! Thanks Wonderfalk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi50

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Pretty good! Wonderful use of celery. My boss LOVED it. Crumble up some saltine crackers and it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Cooked it longer then the recipe and didn't strain the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States