Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was better than I expected it to be, frankly. I wanted to try something different and was somewhat afraid my 4-year-old wouldn't like this, but I made it anyway. She and my husband both ate it readily, though our daughter didn't have seconds like we did. I followed the suggestion of others and blended the vegetables into the soup as suggested, but my hand blender couldn't puree the "strings" from the celery. The soup tasted fine, but it had a bunch of short celery strings in it. They didn't make the soup inedible, but it definitely had a strange texture. Next time I will either de-string the celery first or strain the soup before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I made this soup this evening, and it turned out well. I did, however, cut the recipe into about one-third the original serving amount; I also used more than two cups less broth than the recipe called for, and the soup still turned out a bit thin once I puréed it in my Vitamix blender... which was fine since we had a crusty baguette to sop up the soup. My recommendation is to sauté the vegetables (including some chopped/minced garlic, to your taste) before adding the liquid to the pot and heating everything through, as one reviewer stated earlier. And if you like your soup thick and creamy, remember to use less liquid and/or purée only part of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by User

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Simply delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BreFer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This soup was amazing! I will never go back to canned celery soup again. I used more onions so it was more like an onion/cream of celery soup. I omitted the carrots since I didn't have them on-hand. Also, I pureed everything (instead of sifting) to make it thicker and tastier. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Jupiter, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great soup. I added garlic to the mix and used a hand immersion blender to puree the veggies. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
We have found this simple soup is really good. We also use it in tuna cassoroles, base for other soups and Melican Dinner. I decrease the liquid and make a concentrate to add to other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was a very good soup, I did feel it was a bit bland though. I put my veggies in a blender and chopped them up really fine so I did not strain mine. (I couldn't see wasting all that veggie goodness :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
very satisfying and filling. family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I make for 32servings and freeze it .It doesn't last too long as my kids and Grandkids take half a dozen away each time they come to visit. I Blend the Veg into the soup using a hand stick. Being Scottish I just can't let all these lovely vegetables be thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I love soup and this one is great and a keeper. I changed to 8 servings and used "College Inn culinary broth - White Wine & Herb". I also had two small potatoes that were about to root. I cooked the potatoes in the mirowave first and then just mashed all the veggies right in the pan. I paired with Crescent Bacon-Cheddar Pinwheels and loved it! It's a great meal for a brunch or ladies bunko.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States