Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great soup! I'm not sure I would go out and buy celery to make it, but it's great with leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We love this soup! I prepare it as a supper for my husband and I quite frequently, and we just eat it with some crushed up crackers. The only thing I change is I leave out the margarine, and we blend the veggies in rather than straining. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
cut down to 8 servings. be sure to peel the celery first. added a few cloves of garlic. pressure cooker for 10-15, then puree with immersion blender. added milk, butter, flour. then added white pepper, coriander, sage, tarragon, a bay leaf, salt and black pepper. A dash of creole seasoning and about two tbs of bacon drippings. bring to boil, reduce to simmer. added chopped hearts of celery on top. turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Love this soup, like others I lightly sauted the veggies first, and did not strain, I also added less milk. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara yeats

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made this recipe gluten-free and dairy-free because of my son's allergies and it turned out very well. I threw all of the vegetables in the food processor before cooking because I planned to leave them in, then substituted plain rice milk for the milk and potato starch for the flour. I was making a reduced number of servings (8) and used 3T potato starch, but it could have used a bit more. The soup was very flavorful and I went on to use it to make tater tot casserole, one of our family favorites that we couldn't make with canned soup once we discovered his allergies. So thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great recipe! Grew my own celery this year and cut the servings down to 8 which seems to ake a perfect sized batch of soup. I took the advice of a reviwer and put all the veggies through a food processor allong with garlic but do not remove them at the end. I also found that adding leftover bacon grease, few table spoons adds a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corey3027
Home Town: Eagleville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Really nice and simple recipe. Puree the vegetables afterwards, as suggested. I added a little bit more white pepper, as well as a tiny bit of red pepper flakes, which added a nice warm flavor to each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
A bit of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
i used twice as much carrot and pureed the veggies before adding the milk et al. so i never got to strain them out (not that i would want to ;D) vegetable fiber, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Had a craving for Celery soup today and I came across this recipe. I pretty much followed the recipe as is, but I added some extra corn at the end for some texture. It came out super tasty :) DH even suggested the addition of potatoes next time, which I'll have to try! This turned out to be more of a "Vegetable Chowder", and I'll be making it again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie C. Harding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States