Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Great recipe! Grew my own celery this year and cut the servings down to 8 which seems to ake a perfect sized batch of soup. I took the advice of a reviwer and put all the veggies through a food processor allong with garlic but do not remove them at the end. I also found that adding leftover bacon grease, few table spoons adds a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corey3027
Home Town: Eagleville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Really nice and simple recipe. Puree the vegetables afterwards, as suggested. I added a little bit more white pepper, as well as a tiny bit of red pepper flakes, which added a nice warm flavor to each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
A bit of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
i used twice as much carrot and pureed the veggies before adding the milk et al. so i never got to strain them out (not that i would want to ;D) vegetable fiber, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Had a craving for Celery soup today and I came across this recipe. I pretty much followed the recipe as is, but I added some extra corn at the end for some texture. It came out super tasty :) DH even suggested the addition of potatoes next time, which I'll have to try! This turned out to be more of a "Vegetable Chowder", and I'll be making it again soon :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Loved the soup. I pureed the vegetables as well, and returned them to the soup. For extra seasoning I added a packet of goya sazon, coriander & annatto. It gives the soup a nice color and taste. Awesome, thanks for a great recipe. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Littlepammie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
wonderful soup!!! leave veggies in for sure, just chop them finer and sautee ahead of time.. and you could use less butter if you wanted to. you will never go back to canned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I needed to use up some celery before it spoiled, so I thought this recipe was perfect since it called for a lot of celery. Because I didn't read the adjustable servings first, I ended up with 32 servings of a soup we didn't love. Learned a lesson here! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I really enjoyed this soup... I added too much pepper (chef's error) but overall it was a great soup! I was not sure if I'd like it but I pureed it I loved the consistency! Perfect for a spring night! I served it with Garlic Cheese Texas Toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This was better than I expected it to be, frankly. I wanted to try something different and was somewhat afraid my 4-year-old wouldn't like this, but I made it anyway. She and my husband both ate it readily, though our daughter didn't have seconds like we did. I followed the suggestion of others and blended the vegetables into the soup as suggested, but my hand blender couldn't puree the "strings" from the celery. The soup tasted fine, but it had a bunch of short celery strings in it. They didn't make the soup inedible, but it definitely had a strange texture. Next time I will either de-string the celery first or strain the soup before serving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States