Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This soup rocks. I bought a whole bag of celery thinking I'd substitute those for my usual potato chips come snack time... totally didn't happen. This soup was a great (tasty!) alternative use of all that celery. I scaled down and used 4 cups stock, 1lb celery, 1 carton white mushrooms, and 2 cups 2% milk. I also added thyme and 2tbsp fresh garlic, let everything simmer for 30-40 mins, and blended everything without straining. Easy enough for even a busy med student. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I enjoyed this soup. I made a smaller batch -- only 8 servings. I used one of those Knorr's chicken stocks which was great. I don't know what the other user was talking about, saying that using butter ruined the soup. I used butter and it was fine (I prefer the flavor over margarine). For me, this didn't have enough celery flavor, though, and so I added celery seed and celery salt (and some parsley). It was awesome! Also left the veggies in as I love them too much to remove. Delicious! With some modifications, in my humble opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
LOVE this soup! Instead of using a sieve and removing the veggies, I leave them in and use a hand blender to mix them in the liquid. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was delicious. I left the veggies in and they can be left chunky or sliced finer, depending how you like it. I will definitely be adding more carrots and onions next time and might even end up experimenting with adding cheese and/or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Really simple and yummy - I know, I know that it is not always helpful when others tell you how they changed it but I am gonna tell you what I did anyway! We added 1tsp garlic powder, and then emulsified it with one of those handy dandy hand mixers wands you see on the food network it came out nice and smooth and thick but not to thick =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet new orleans
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
my husband really likes celery. gave this easy recipe a try and we loved it. I used my immerse blender right in pan and I added coconut milk along with 2 cups of milk. I used servings for 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNCITYMEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woonsocket, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I pureed my soup after cooking the vegetables. Then I strained the thickness out (gave it to my dogs, they loved it). I put everything back into the pot and added 1 cup of heavy cream (instead of 6 cups of milk). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Simple, yet delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
awesome starter soup thank you wonderfalk! added nutmeg don't think Im gonna go creamy its so tasty right now sauteed veggies in pot and added stock and butter instead of margarine... WOWZA! yummy ~1 pot, one knife, one cutting board, and a spoon~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States