Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
OMG OMG OMG OMG!! Amazing soup! Leave the veggies in and puree and add a little garlic powder. With those changes this soup turns into a FIVE STAR SOUP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Southampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Not altogether TERRIBLE, but not very good, either, it lacks a lot of flavor, even when the vegetables are left in. If you're looking for a legitimate cream of celery soup, I would suggest taking out the stock completely and using a chicken bouillon or other chicken soup base equal to the amount of milk used (so, 1 tsp bouillon per cup of milk). Starting with a roux with the margarine/butter and flour, then pouring in milk and letting boil for a minute to thicken, and after thickening adding your cooked and partly pureed veggies to your taste. This recipe was WAY too brothy. Use something else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Yum! I added a little garlic powder, onion powder, and Italian seasoning, then used an immersion blender to puree it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This is my favorite Creme of Celery Soup recipe. I, too, add more veggies. I also use real, Amish, pesticide free Butter, never margarine. We avoid non-food in our diets. I use this as the base for many other recipes instead of canned versions to improve nutrition and avoid chemicals. I do freeze it as I am not serving it as a soup, but, instead using it for making other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
a good go too recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Cream of celery soup always reminds me of my Great-Grandmother it was something she often made when I was spending the night. Lovely recipe, I leave out the carrots and leave in the celery, just chop it extra fine. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Tasty soup. I added garlic and allowed more time for the veggies to become tender before blending the soup straight off the stove top without straining anything. A also used butter instead of margarine and had to adjust the salt to taste. I may use half and half or at least whole milk next time for a thicker creamier taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Made this soup 3 times in 2 wks. My 6 yr old son,who don't like vegetables, actually eat the celery & carrots! He will not touch it if it is cooked in other methods. I followed shannon's suggestion by first sauteed the vegetables in butter, add the flour then milk to thicken it before pouing into the stock. I did not remove the vegetables, like it that way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy Chua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I love this recipe! It's super easy, and it turned out great! The only thing that I changed was I ended up blending the soup instead of straining out the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This soup rocks. I bought a whole bag of celery thinking I'd substitute those for my usual potato chips come snack time... totally didn't happen. This soup was a great (tasty!) alternative use of all that celery. I scaled down and used 4 cups stock, 1lb celery, 1 carton white mushrooms, and 2 cups 2% milk. I also added thyme and 2tbsp fresh garlic, let everything simmer for 30-40 mins, and blended everything without straining. Easy enough for even a busy med student. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States