Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2012
a good go too recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Cream of celery soup always reminds me of my Great-Grandmother it was something she often made when I was spending the night. Lovely recipe, I leave out the carrots and leave in the celery, just chop it extra fine. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Tasty soup. I added garlic and allowed more time for the veggies to become tender before blending the soup straight off the stove top without straining anything. A also used butter instead of margarine and had to adjust the salt to taste. I may use half and half or at least whole milk next time for a thicker creamier taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Made this soup 3 times in 2 wks. My 6 yr old son,who don't like vegetables, actually eat the celery & carrots! He will not touch it if it is cooked in other methods. I followed shannon's suggestion by first sauteed the vegetables in butter, add the flour then milk to thicken it before pouing into the stock. I did not remove the vegetables, like it that way. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
I love this recipe! It's super easy, and it turned out great! The only thing that I changed was I ended up blending the soup instead of straining out the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This soup rocks. I bought a whole bag of celery thinking I'd substitute those for my usual potato chips come snack time... totally didn't happen. This soup was a great (tasty!) alternative use of all that celery. I scaled down and used 4 cups stock, 1lb celery, 1 carton white mushrooms, and 2 cups 2% milk. I also added thyme and 2tbsp fresh garlic, let everything simmer for 30-40 mins, and blended everything without straining. Easy enough for even a busy med student. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I enjoyed this soup. I made a smaller batch -- only 8 servings. I used one of those Knorr's chicken stocks which was great. I don't know what the other user was talking about, saying that using butter ruined the soup. I used butter and it was fine (I prefer the flavor over margarine). For me, this didn't have enough celery flavor, though, and so I added celery seed and celery salt (and some parsley). It was awesome! Also left the veggies in as I love them too much to remove. Delicious! With some modifications, in my humble opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
LOVE this soup! Instead of using a sieve and removing the veggies, I leave them in and use a hand blender to mix them in the liquid. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was delicious. I left the veggies in and they can be left chunky or sliced finer, depending how you like it. I will definitely be adding more carrots and onions next time and might even end up experimenting with adding cheese and/or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Really simple and yummy - I know, I know that it is not always helpful when others tell you how they changed it but I am gonna tell you what I did anyway! We added 1tsp garlic powder, and then emulsified it with one of those handy dandy hand mixers wands you see on the food network it came out nice and smooth and thick but not to thick =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States