Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I would have given this recipe 5 stars but it just lacked some flavor, probably due to the fact that I didn't have carrots. I was using leftover celery from Superbowl, didn't know what to do with it, and I found this recipe. I did use my immersion (sp?) blender and pureed the celery and onions after adding the chicken broth and Almond Milk. I threw in a little half and half for richness too. What made it fun was I had some finishing salts that I put on the table and we had fun tasting the soup with the different salts. Pink Australian salt was the winner :) Everyone enjoyed it, despite missing the carrots tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I always read tons of reviews before I make a recipe, and this time it really paid off. Immersion blend your soup, for sure. Makes it creamy without adding any additional fat! I went the path of sauteeing the veggies (including carrot and garlic) in a little butter and EVOO until tender, then I poured in about a cup of water, put the lid on, and let them steam and get really soft. I added the rest of the water (6C total) and 2T. Better Than Bouillon paste. I think that's a key ingredient because it's so much tastier than plain chicken stock from a box or can. I didn't need to add any salt or other spices. I made this to freeze, so I omitted the roux, and as the soup is now, it's divine. Really doesn't need the fat and carbs of the flour, butter, and milk. I can see using this as a sauce for broiled fish or in casseroles to add flavor. Really delicious. I do plan to try the creamy version, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MonroeMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Just finished this great soup. I re-portioned it to be 4 servings and used half an onion, two medium carrots, 7 stalks of celery, and 5 large cloves sweet garlic. Like others, I used an immersion blender to puree about half of the veggies when it was done cooking. Sooo delicious, very sweet flavor, like potato soup without the weird, annoying potatoes. Served with baked tortillas, which ended up tasting like saltines. Overall very satisfying and easy on a cold evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Freezes well with a few changes. Easy and delicious! I made this recipe with the intention of freezing it because I had a large surplus of celery. Since creamy soups often separate in the freezer, I changed the process to eliminate this problem. To make the recipe quicker, I pulsed the celery and onion (carrots, also, though I left them out as I didn't have any at the time) in batches in my food processor until it was a fine chop. I then added it to the pot along with the stock and cooked the veggies until tender (leave out the milk, flour, butter at this step). I like the added texture of the celery, so did not sieve any out(no need to blend it because I already used the food processor). Once cooled, I froze soup in 2 cup portions. To finish, I thaw the soup and add it, while whisking, to a roux of about 2 Tbsp Butter and 2 Tbsp flour. Let simmer until it begins to thicken, then slowly add an equal portion of milk (2 cups) while stirring. Let simmer without boiling a couple minutes until creamy. Salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I recalculated the servings to 4, and made this soup, but did NOT discard the vegetables. Instead, I allowed the soup to cool to "warm," put it into a food processor and pureed the vegetables with the soup, then reheated to serve. This yields a richer flavor and was really wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Buckley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
It truly is a delicious cold night style soup. I left in the veggies and added extra butter. I think that comes from the PA Dutch in me needing tons of butter. We had this with Salmon Cakes. It was an interesting combination that I may try again. A recommend to anyone with little ingredients needing something warm and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wren Song Heart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garrett, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is a great recipe! Simple and very delicious. I love the celery taste in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Used skim milk and a little heavy cream, really good, make sure to keep,stirring or it will stick to the bottom. Did use the immersion blender, I would have liked it a bit chunkier, maybe less liquids
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
This was EXCELLENT and amazingly easy to prepare. LOVED the taste and texture. To make it simpler I cut the recipes in 1/2, chopped up the celery, SHREADED the carrots and 1 large onion, added 4 cloves of garlic. Boil for 10 min, than simmer on low heat for 10min. This made the soup thick and hearty in taste (without the need to puree or strain). We added chicken and fresh parsley to the leftovers ....result...SUPER YUMMY...not a drop left!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Quick and easy. Tasted good. I pureed the vegetables and added them back as suggested by reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States