Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is so tasty and so easy! It really has undertones of Thanksgiving dressing, which makes me happy. It's a great recipe to have on hand when you have a recipe that calls for a small amount of celery and you need something to do with the leftovers. Like most people, I found it easier and tastier to just use a handheld blender and puree the soup (leaving a few chunks). I just sliced the carrots instead of julienning them. It's wonderful with croutons sprinkled all over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I just wanted to guzzle this soup from a tall glass - that's how good it is! I only had dry milk on hand so I used that with the called for amount of warm water and whisked together with the flour. I also used butter. I boiled the soup for about 10 minutes and then decided to add in garlic and cilantro. I also added more white pepper and cooked it for another 10 minutes. Then, pureed it in the blender and served it with a dusting of Hungarian paprika. Fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Really good flavor, easy to make! Need to cut the celery smaller or definitely strain - celery strings are chewy even if using stick to blend. I like to leave veggies in whenever possible. This soup may not be one of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I Love this soup. I puree it and freeze in one cup portions so that I can take it in my bagged lunches. Delicious hot or cold and perfect for eating on the run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
A great and easy recipe that became a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
i dont like giving anything less than 4 stars for recipes unless i really feel it's barely okay.. i'm hoping the reason i feel this way is because i had to use soy milk instead of regular milk.. i pureed the vegetables into the soup but it still tasted a little bland to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I had a thing of celery that was going soft and just had a brocoli soup last week that I loved so thought we'd try celery soup. I cut amounts to make 1 qt instead of 4. Not sure how many veggies I used, just used what I had. Oh I microwaved the carrots for amin to soften them prior to cooking, my celery was already soft. Set the timer for 5 min to stir again since it said boil for 10....Oops it boiled over and half my liquid is on the stove top. Took what was left and blended it anyway to a smoothie consistency. Taste test and its pretty good. My daughter thinks it looks like a smoothie setting in the blender still so hopefully she'll love it at dinner in a few....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I left the vegetables in and pureed them in the blender. I also used water and chicken bouillon instead of broth. Very cheap, simple recipe with lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Great example that there are excellent recipes on AR that do not have necessarily have hundreds of reviews. Outstanding and very easy. Perfect for the time when you have lots of left over celery. Adapted to smaller scale, followed some previous suggestions - extra carrots, garlic, sage/nutmeg, and sautéing veggies early on. So glad I tried it. Will make it again. Thanks for a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I would have given this recipe 5 stars but it just lacked some flavor, probably due to the fact that I didn't have carrots. I was using leftover celery from Superbowl, didn't know what to do with it, and I found this recipe. I did use my immersion (sp?) blender and pureed the celery and onions after adding the chicken broth and Almond Milk. I threw in a little half and half for richness too. What made it fun was I had some finishing salts that I put on the table and we had fun tasting the soup with the different salts. Pink Australian salt was the winner :) Everyone enjoyed it, despite missing the carrots tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laraine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States