Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made it tonight with garden grown celery and it was delicious. I tried a bowl first with the chopped veggies in it which was very good. Then I put another bowlful in the blender and that was very creamy and delicious. Instead of all milk I used half cream as that's what I had on hand. Making a third of this recipe works well as you use .985 mL (1 quart of broth and milk), 1 lb. of celery and a third of each other item. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
A little bland, even with some garlic added. It needs something, I'm not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I needed a recipe to use all my celery before it went bad & this is what I found. I blended the vegetables in the food prosessor & added them back to the soup, because I prefer a thicker soup. The celery didn't blend so well & I thought I was going to have to strain it but it tastes really good. Also celery soup should be mainly green, but after blended the veggies there was some orange in there from the carrots, still mainly tasted like celery but the color threw me off at first, so maybe if I make this again I'll only blend the celery. I used 4 cups milk instead of 6, to keep it thick. Also added cooked brown rice I had left from another meal I cooked today & it was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnvrlnn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This is a VERY mild soup, which was exactly what I wanted to make for my elderly father who was recovering from surgery. I used water instead of chicken stock and a gluten-free baking mix instead of wheat flour. I let mine simmer a bit longer because I wanted the vegetables to be extra soft. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. I left the vegetables (which I had chopped very small) in the soup and just ran the stick blender through the pot enough to puree some, leaving a good number of chunks. The soup was delicious and allowed the celery to take a starring role.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is so tasty and so easy! It really has undertones of Thanksgiving dressing, which makes me happy. It's a great recipe to have on hand when you have a recipe that calls for a small amount of celery and you need something to do with the leftovers. Like most people, I found it easier and tastier to just use a handheld blender and puree the soup (leaving a few chunks). I just sliced the carrots instead of julienning them. It's wonderful with croutons sprinkled all over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I just wanted to guzzle this soup from a tall glass - that's how good it is! I only had dry milk on hand so I used that with the called for amount of warm water and whisked together with the flour. I also used butter. I boiled the soup for about 10 minutes and then decided to add in garlic and cilantro. I also added more white pepper and cooked it for another 10 minutes. Then, pureed it in the blender and served it with a dusting of Hungarian paprika. Fab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Really good flavor, easy to make! Need to cut the celery smaller or definitely strain - celery strings are chewy even if using stick to blend. I like to leave veggies in whenever possible. This soup may not be one of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I Love this soup. I puree it and freeze in one cup portions so that I can take it in my bagged lunches. Delicious hot or cold and perfect for eating on the run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
A great and easy recipe that became a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
i dont like giving anything less than 4 stars for recipes unless i really feel it's barely okay.. i'm hoping the reason i feel this way is because i had to use soy milk instead of regular milk.. i pureed the vegetables into the soup but it still tasted a little bland to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States