Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was awesome! I don't have a kitchen scale so I used 3 heads of celery and assumed it was equivalent to 3 #'s, still don't know how many heads of celery should be used. Some others commented that this didn't freeze well because of the milk. I cooked it for 10 minutes without adding the flour, milk, etc. I used my Blendtec blender to make soup of the veggies, froze half the recipe and finished the other half in the pot. It turned out very rich tasting even though I used skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chiefster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was a good basic recipe. I pureed the veggies but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Because I didn't "cook" the flour in a roux the first time around, the first batch tasted too floury. I tried this again replacing the milk for cream, skipping flour altogether, and using 1/3 less broth and 1/3 less cream. I prefer this soup with cream even though it's not as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Great delicious recipe! We only used 4 tablespoons of butter, added more flour to make it thicker, and left the vegetables in and didn't strain it. It turned out great and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Delicious - made as is (just pureed veggies and didn't strain them)! Gourmet taste! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is the best soup. When I make it, it tastes like it came from a really high end restaurant. I have made it many times. I puree the veggies in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
The poster was correct - even those who don't like celery will love this soup. My husband is one of them. I used 1 lb carrots and 1 large onion in addition to the celery. I used "better than bouillion", 13 tsp for 3 quarts water. After adding veggies to boiling broth, I melted one stick of butter in a small skillet, added in 1.5 tsp salt, pepper to taste, and let the butter brown for a minute over medium heat, then added in about 3/4 cup flour to make roux. Added the roux to the boiling veg/broth, boiled for about 15 minutes, then turned to low and simmered until dinnertime...about another 30 minutes. Fabulous aroma, comforting creamy flavor. I served it with toasted whole grain bread and a small balsamic vinaigrette salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I didn't have any cream soups for a certain recipe, so I decided that it would take less time to make it than it would to go get it. Your recipe was delicious and I believe was better than what I could buy in a store. The only thing I would do is add more celery next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Bonhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I had some extra carrots and celery left over from another recipe that I wanted to use up. This recipe was perfect for that. It seemed like it was lacking in the spices, so I added cayenne, sage, garlic powder, and a touch of all-spice. Really did the trick! Served with grilled cheese (cheddar and cream-cheese). My husband said it was the best lunch EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liberated woman in an apron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Pacific Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Mmmmm, this soup is really good!! I didn't expect it to taste so rich and creamy (while knowing it is so good for me). I was surprised to discover I didn't have any chicken broth so I added some vegitable water (from steaming vegi's that I collect in the freezer) and that was fine. I can't wait to give to my husband who claims to dislike soup. After his bicycle ride home through the snow, I think he'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Great soup. Did blend up the veggies in the end, seemed to thicken it up a bit. Got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States