Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Ok, I changed this recipe quite a bit but.. I have to give it credit for giving me an amazing base to work with. My boyfriend said it was possibly in the top 20 best foods he's ever eaten, which is saying alot because he's a big foodie. I used chicken boullion cubes instead of broth (omitting the salt called for in the recipe). I also omitted the butter, as it was not needed. I pureed the veggies after soft boiling them in the broth, and then added them back. I also added some sage and a couple shakes of habenero powder. It was amazing. However, next time I will also try making the roux that some of the other reviewers made. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Very, very yummy soup. The whole family loves it. I don't take out the vegetables (best part!), I just take the hand-held electrical mixer and use it straight into the pot. It tastes fantastic and has a lovely texture! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I tried and loved this recipe. Relatively easy and delicious. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Awesome! I was looking for a nice, light soup and also something to use up a head of celery that I'd forgotten about. I made a few changes: I used 1 head of celery, 1/2 a bag of baby carrots, chopped, 1 heaping tablespoon of chopped garlic, and a large spanish onion. I used 2 boxes of chicken broth and skim milk as that was what I had. As soon as I added the milk, I wished I had waited and added it at the end (if you are boiling milk you have to stir constantly so it doesn't scorch at the bottom!). Cooked over medium heat for 15 minutes, remove and ran the soup in batches through my blender. Next time i think I'm going to turn it into a celery, potato, and carrot cream soup and add about 4 large potatoes, cook in the broth till tender, and add 2 cups of heavy cream at the end, rather than milk. Thanks for the nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This was just okay. Rather than toss everything in the pot together, I sauteed the onion, celery, and carrot in the butter until softened, then sprinkled the flour in and cooked until lightly browned. I also used a tetra pak of mushroom broth and a can of evaporated skim milk in place of chicken broth and milk. The flavor was good, but nothing unexpected. Basically, it tasted like mushroom soup with celery chunks in it. I'll contemplate some additions for a more complex flavor, but it was good on its own with some crusty bread -- just nothing I'll be craving anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
This was awesome! I don't have a kitchen scale so I used 3 heads of celery and assumed it was equivalent to 3 #'s, still don't know how many heads of celery should be used. Some others commented that this didn't freeze well because of the milk. I cooked it for 10 minutes without adding the flour, milk, etc. I used my Blendtec blender to make soup of the veggies, froze half the recipe and finished the other half in the pot. It turned out very rich tasting even though I used skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chiefster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was a good basic recipe. I pureed the veggies but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Because I didn't "cook" the flour in a roux the first time around, the first batch tasted too floury. I tried this again replacing the milk for cream, skipping flour altogether, and using 1/3 less broth and 1/3 less cream. I prefer this soup with cream even though it's not as thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Great delicious recipe! We only used 4 tablespoons of butter, added more flour to make it thicker, and left the vegetables in and didn't strain it. It turned out great and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Delicious - made as is (just pureed veggies and didn't strain them)! Gourmet taste! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
This is the best soup. When I make it, it tastes like it came from a really high end restaurant. I have made it many times. I puree the veggies in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States