Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I made this with the left over celery from the stuffing I made for Christmas dinner, and it was great! I followed the recipe exactly and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Mmmmmmmm mmmmmmm! I made this with soy milk instead of milk as my son is allergic and added some garlic and cilantro. Oh, and as other users suggested, did not strain but rather pureed everything together. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALLMETOPAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
very good recipe.....i put the veggies in the blender and kept them in too per others suggestions. so good thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEREEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I blended the vegetables into the soup instead of straining them. Might as well get the extra fibre. Also, I prefer to use a vegetable stock rather than chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Love this soup. Great way to use up celery. Made 1/3 recipe and it came out smooth and full of flavor. It will thicken when it sits out for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Ok, I changed this recipe quite a bit but.. I have to give it credit for giving me an amazing base to work with. My boyfriend said it was possibly in the top 20 best foods he's ever eaten, which is saying alot because he's a big foodie. I used chicken boullion cubes instead of broth (omitting the salt called for in the recipe). I also omitted the butter, as it was not needed. I pureed the veggies after soft boiling them in the broth, and then added them back. I also added some sage and a couple shakes of habenero powder. It was amazing. However, next time I will also try making the roux that some of the other reviewers made. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Very, very yummy soup. The whole family loves it. I don't take out the vegetables (best part!), I just take the hand-held electrical mixer and use it straight into the pot. It tastes fantastic and has a lovely texture! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I tried and loved this recipe. Relatively easy and delicious. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Awesome! I was looking for a nice, light soup and also something to use up a head of celery that I'd forgotten about. I made a few changes: I used 1 head of celery, 1/2 a bag of baby carrots, chopped, 1 heaping tablespoon of chopped garlic, and a large spanish onion. I used 2 boxes of chicken broth and skim milk as that was what I had. As soon as I added the milk, I wished I had waited and added it at the end (if you are boiling milk you have to stir constantly so it doesn't scorch at the bottom!). Cooked over medium heat for 15 minutes, remove and ran the soup in batches through my blender. Next time i think I'm going to turn it into a celery, potato, and carrot cream soup and add about 4 large potatoes, cook in the broth till tender, and add 2 cups of heavy cream at the end, rather than milk. Thanks for the nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This was just okay. Rather than toss everything in the pot together, I sauteed the onion, celery, and carrot in the butter until softened, then sprinkled the flour in and cooked until lightly browned. I also used a tetra pak of mushroom broth and a can of evaporated skim milk in place of chicken broth and milk. The flavor was good, but nothing unexpected. Basically, it tasted like mushroom soup with celery chunks in it. I'll contemplate some additions for a more complex flavor, but it was good on its own with some crusty bread -- just nothing I'll be craving anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States