Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
My husband thought this was just ok. I added more salt and it was pretty darn good. I cut the recipe down to 6 servings. Our dinner guests loved it and finished every drop. Amazing what a difference a little more salt makes. I added a touch of cornstarch because it was too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This soup was very flavorful; unfortunately, mine separated. I suppose the heat was too high, but it was good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
A really nice recipe that I gave four stars for two reasons: the soup would have been nicer a little thicker and the veggies definitely needed to be pureed. The taste was phenomenal but the consistency was off with chunks of celery and thin broth. Will make again with these two adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I made this with the left over celery from the stuffing I made for Christmas dinner, and it was great! I followed the recipe exactly and I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Mmmmmmmm mmmmmmm! I made this with soy milk instead of milk as my son is allergic and added some garlic and cilantro. Oh, and as other users suggested, did not strain but rather pureed everything together. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CALLMETOPAZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
very good recipe.....i put the veggies in the blender and kept them in too per others suggestions. so good thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEREEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Greece, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I blended the vegetables into the soup instead of straining them. Might as well get the extra fibre. Also, I prefer to use a vegetable stock rather than chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Love this soup. Great way to use up celery. Made 1/3 recipe and it came out smooth and full of flavor. It will thicken when it sits out for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Ok, I changed this recipe quite a bit but.. I have to give it credit for giving me an amazing base to work with. My boyfriend said it was possibly in the top 20 best foods he's ever eaten, which is saying alot because he's a big foodie. I used chicken boullion cubes instead of broth (omitting the salt called for in the recipe). I also omitted the butter, as it was not needed. I pureed the veggies after soft boiling them in the broth, and then added them back. I also added some sage and a couple shakes of habenero powder. It was amazing. However, next time I will also try making the roux that some of the other reviewers made. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Very, very yummy soup. The whole family loves it. I don't take out the vegetables (best part!), I just take the hand-held electrical mixer and use it straight into the pot. It tastes fantastic and has a lovely texture! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 101-110 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States