Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was a very good soup, I did feel it was a bit bland though. I put my veggies in a blender and chopped them up really fine so I did not strain mine. (I couldn't see wasting all that veggie goodness :) )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
very satisfying and filling. family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I make for 32servings and freeze it .It doesn't last too long as my kids and Grandkids take half a dozen away each time they come to visit. I Blend the Veg into the soup using a hand stick. Being Scottish I just can't let all these lovely vegetables be thrown out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I love soup and this one is great and a keeper. I changed to 8 servings and used "College Inn culinary broth - White Wine & Herb". I also had two small potatoes that were about to root. I cooked the potatoes in the mirowave first and then just mashed all the veggies right in the pan. I paired with Crescent Bacon-Cheddar Pinwheels and loved it! It's a great meal for a brunch or ladies bunko.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I read several reviews before making the soup. Some said the soup was too thin. So for 8 servings, I added 1/4 cup more flour. I also added 2 cloves of garlic. I didn't measure the chopped vegetables but guessed at the amounts. After the soup cooked, I pureed the vegetables leaving a few larger chunks. The soup was delicious. The reason I tried this recipe was because the celery was getting a little old but was still fine for use in cooking. I had forgotten about it as it was in the back of the refrigerator. A few stalks were slightly frozen. Using celery for soup uses up all those extra parts that often get thrown away. Though I sometimes use them to make vegetable stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Proving that simple is better. This soup turned out awesome! Based on another review, I used a hand mixer to puree the vegetables rather than sieving them out. I would be thrilled to be served this soup in a restaurant. Excellent and easy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is so delicious, you won't be able to back to the canned stuff! I needed a recipe for cream of celery, that I could convert to gluten free, and this fit the bill perfectly! The taste is wonderful, and like others, I left the veggies in, and just whizzed the soup with my immersion blender. Fantastic results. Since I needed it in "condensed" form, to use in a casserole, I just decreased the stock to 1.5 qts. Perfection. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Don't make my mistake of substituting butter for margarine. It was awful and I had to through away the whole batch. I put three stars because I really can't rate the recipe, but thought I would share my experience so others don't make the same error. Lesson learned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Excellent!! I pureed all the vegetables after cooking in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
To suzi below-to divide the recipe u can use the automatic serving calculator-very handy feature-the 3 quarts divided by 4 should be 3 cups stock (not 1 1/2) great recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States