Cream of Celery Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Pretty good! Wonderful use of celery. My boss LOVED it. Crumble up some saltine crackers and it's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Cooked it longer then the recipe and didn't strain the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
4.5 Stars ~ only due to 'margarine' and I normally do a roux as the base first - not recipe directions. Easily adaptable though. I scaled this way down using 2 cups each of stock and milk. 1/2 C was buttermilk I needed to use up, just saying. I made this for tuna casserole as I'm weary of Crm of Mushroom soup :) I had 1/2 lb of chopped up celery I froze waiting to make this. Got that out and churned it around in my manual chopper bowl where you turn the blades with a handle on top. Due to the celery being seriously minced, I didn't strain. Also, I added 1 t. dill weed and a bit of lemon juice as I was using with tuna. Most any cream soups I grate in some fresh nutmeg as well. I sauteed the celery and onion in 1/4 C butter. I did add 3 lrge cloves of roasted garlic I pasted down. So, added 1/4 C flour, cooked it for a minute or so then slowly whisked in the stock 1st. Then added the milk, 1/4 C at a time. Oh right, I spaced out the carrots but I didn't miss them. I did simmer soup longer, whisking around occasionally. Soup turned out nice and tasted really good in my tuna casserole. I would eat it as a stand alone soup also and I could probably find other uses as well. Thumbs up! Easy to make and/or change a bit for your own preferences. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Really good recipe! I had lots of celery in my fridge because a previous recipe only required two stalks. I normally don't like celery too much, but this soup is delicious! I changed the servings to 5 because 32 is way too much. I used a whole carton of chicken stock, and instead of milk, I used a can of evaporated milk. I also added in more celery than required by the recipe (I needed to use up the celery!) and I also omitted the margarine. Once the vegetables were cooked down (about 25 min), then I used my immersion blender. Then added in the evaporated milk mixture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food_lover

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Just left the dinner table - yum, yum, yum!I followed recipe pretty much, but took advice from other reviewers and made these changes: added garlic and a pinch of nutmeg, did not strain the veggies, just pureed them in my Cuisinart (the immersion blender others suggested just did not make it smooth enough for my taste). Also, because there are only two of us here, I took the advice of others and omitted the roux so I can freeze 2 cup portions and add the roux (2 T. butter. 2 T. flour and 2 cups milk) when I thaw and heat it. Thanks for the very tasty soup, and because my husband is on a sodium restricted diet, I can make it and use it in all those wonderful, easy casseroles that I used to make with Campbells Cream of Celery Soup, but without the high sodium count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This is amazing!!!!....however....I totally agree with a previous comment....don't strain the veggies.....either purée them fully into the soup....or what I did was half purée it....so there were still some chunks.....I used butter instead of margarine.....butter is way better for flavour ( and healthier.. :). ). Also threw in some garlic....LOVE it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
o. m. g.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miz24824

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaaawa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I tried it but substituting margarine with butter. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vuvie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
I made it tonight with garden grown celery and it was delicious. I tried a bowl first with the chopped veggies in it which was very good. Then I put another bowlful in the blender and that was very creamy and delicious. Instead of all milk I used half cream as that's what I had on hand. Making a third of this recipe works well as you use .985 mL (1 quart of broth and milk), 1 lb. of celery and a third of each other item. Super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
A little bland, even with some garlic added. It needs something, I'm not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States