Cream of Cauliflower Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
So easy and so good! I did change a few things, like using heavy cream in place of milk (3/4 c.) since I had some I needed to get rid of. Honestly, if I was in a bind, and had neither, I thought the soup would have been fine without any dairy or extra liquid added (based on both flavor and thickness of the soup). Depends on your own personal tastes. I also added an extra carrot, used an eyeballed amount of fresh grated nutmeg, skipped the sherry altogether and added 2-3 tbsp. of parsley to the soup instead of using it as a garnish. I added it at the same time as the cauliflower. Finally, I followed others advice and held back a bit of the veggies to add back to the puree. I was so pleased with the versatility of this recipe, that I think I will be using it for a very long time to come. [Edit: I wrote this review in 2008 and it's now 2014. I'm still making this soup with a few other alterations. I don't bother blending or pureeing this soup at all anymore. I find that I like having a more rustic feel, with bits and chunks from using a potato masher (just mashing until I get a consistency I like). I still skip the dairy completely and I never used the sherry (you just don't really need either of those ingredients, especially the way I make it). I still add the parsley into the soup (nice handful finely chopped, no measuring needed) and also add a medium sized sweet potato (sliced thinly for faster cooking). The sweetness pairs well with the fresh grated nutmeg I use.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
This was a very satisfying and yummy soup. Simple to make and easy to modify. I cut back a bit on the cauliflower and added some broccoli, also added some grated sharp cheddar,parmesan and some cream cheese. Also, very important not to puree the entire soup, leave a couple cups of the vegys whole. Thanx Vivien.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
This soup is an awesome addition to a cold winters day! I added lots of shredded cheddar before serving with french garlic bread. I also added a few very small florets of cauliflower and simmered at the end for extra added texture. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
I made this for my husband who loves cauliflower and he raved about it! I added a half moon size of amish swiss cheese when the soup was done and just let it melt in. It wasn't a strong cheese flavor but really enhanced this soup! I HIGHLY recommend trying it this way!! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gibraltar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Woodhaven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is a fantastic soup! I pureed all but one cup of the veggies and mixed those back in at the end. I topped mine off with a little shredded Monteray Jack cheese. My 2 year old liked it a lot too. This recipe is a keeper, quick to make and very satifying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Delicious and very gourmet soup recipe. It takes a bit of time to cut up the vegetables but is well worth the effort. I would not exceed the 1/8 tsp of nutmeg as it almost overpowers the natural vegetable taste. Also, use very fine black pepper to avoid a gritty taste. Recipe is very yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Glacken Wyandt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
This was a delicious soup! I'm looking forward to making it a second time for guests! The sherry complemented the recipe and the potatoes was a great way to cut down on the fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2001
We really liked this soup. I added just a little seasoning to give it a little spice. The sherry was a good idea also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
This is FANTASTIC! It doesnt look like your average white, creamy cauliflower soup, but WOW. We will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
I liked this soup. It was very tasty. The sherry added a distinct flavor that was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States