Cream of Cauliflower Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This makes a delicious, low-fat but creamy soup. I forgot to add the sherry, so I assume it's even better with the sherry added. The addition of potatoes gives it a nice texture, although it did remind me a bit of vichysoisse (although we love vichysoisse, so that's not a problem). I may try roasting the cauliflower next time to increase the cauliflower flavor. We'll definitely be having this soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Really enjoyed this soup. Easy to make and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Though I made some slight revisions, I really enjoyed this soup and so did 2 out of 3 of my teenage sons! First off, I doubled the recipe {note previous mention of three teenage boys}. My youngest loves leftover soup for breakfast and I like it for lunch the next day so I always make A LOT! I made the recipe vegan by substituting Earth Balance, organic vegetable broth and non dairy milk. I left out only the dry sherry because I didn't have any and I added about 1/8 teaspoon ground cayenne pepper with the nutmeg because some reviews mentioned the soup was a little bland. I also only pureed about half the batch because we like some chunks in our soup. Even though my kids won't touch raw cauliflower with a ten foot pole they loved it in this soup! It was even better the next day and I plan to make it again, but next time I'll skip the puree step all together. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Willowick, Ohio, USA
Photo by Brian
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Another winner in my quest for good soups for someone on a pureed diet. This tastes really good, but I'm afraid the 2 potatoes infringes a bit too much on the cauliflower flavor. Almost tastes like potato soup. A good potato soup, but that's not what I was looking for. After a partial blend with the stick blender, I took out half for those that like a chunkier soup, then blended the rest until completely pureed. BOTH were very tasty. Next time I may try it with just 1 potato (and there will be a next time). Cheese would work with this too. Might even try a little swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
bland and watery...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Found this to be just ok. Nothing great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Tried this recipe for the first time and we loved the soup. It was easy to make but prepping the vegetables takes the most time. I used only 3 cloves of garlic and substituted 1 cup of 18% cream for the milk. I thought that the cream would add more flavour than the skim milk I had on hand. The only comment is that the soup tastes more of potato than cauliflower. But overall, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capitalfoodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This is a delicious soup! Perfect for even the main course. I omitted the garlic, sherry, and nutmeg but added shredded cheddar cheese as a topping while serving. Also I used a handful of baby carrots instead of the two large carrots. This recipe is very easy to follow or get creative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Made the recipe exactly as written but no sherry. Absolutely delicious! My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
This was very good. Only by mistake did I make a few changes...all of the vegetables sauteed fine, but in another pot I had the broth simmering and I added everything plus all spices including nutmeg. Once all of the vegetables had simmered I let them cool overnight in the pot. (i wake up early!) After they had cooled I pureed with my immersion blender, added milk and stored in the refrigerator for the week. Very good. Did not use parsley, had none that was fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilac0832

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marblehead, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States