Cream of Cauliflower Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Ooh this turned out so good. At the last minute, had to Substitute instant mashed potatoes because my potatoes were bad :( ... But it was fabulous. The nutmeg and sherry give such a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great soup, I made it twice, I didn't add sherry because I didn't have any. The fist time followed directions and it was great. The second time I make soup I added spinach. After I blended, I split soup in half and added a a cup of evaporated milk to half. My husband likes cream soup and I like low fat. Both were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
what a great soup, good flavors and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is the best basic cauliflower soup recipe I've ever tried! I did tweak it to my taste, but it was great the first time I tried. Not, next time I'll do this instead. It also made me realize that this is the base for a Irish potato soup that one of my local taverns serves. Just use potato instead of cauli and lots more butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Surprisingly great flavor, yet very mild at the same time. An immersion blender (boat motor) is a must! Between that and the soft texture of the potatoes and cauliflower, the soup has a great velvety texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPORTBIKERCHIC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I love love love this soup!..I didnt have potatoes and added cheddar cheese and milk. My kids loved it..didnt even taste like califlower. The sherry makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I'm giving this recipe four stars primarily because I changed a lot of things, and I don't think it's fair to rate a recipe lower than that unless you stay true to it. That said, all of my changes were either suggested in the intro to the recipe itself (adding more/different veggies), or out of necessity. The soup we ended up with was good, not spectacular, but I thought there were some problems with the recipe itself. The biggest one is that there didn't seem to be enough liquid. That could be because I had a mutant head of cauliflower (I only used half, but did add a cup or so of broccoli florets and a little leftover frozen spinach), or because my idea of a "large" potato or onion is bigger than Vivien's. Either way, I had to add an extra two cups of water, and the still veggies weren't close to covered. Also, maybe she was using salted stock -- mine was unsalted -- but I had to add far, far more salt than 1 tsp; could have been the extra water, but I still don't think one tsp would do it for all of those veg. The nutmeg and pepper disappeared until I added more. All of that being said, this was a decent base recipe, and will be useful for making cream of leftover veggie soup, but I'll probably keep my eye out for another in the meantime. Thanks, anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
For people just learning to cook, I thought this recipe was great. It was easy, reasonably fast, and not terribly labor intensive. Perhaps if you're really advanced, you'll bristle, but for the rest of us, bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This soup was marvelous. Cauliflower soup is my grandma's favorite and she practically licked her bowl. I love that there's no cream- although I did add just a touch (it was Christmas, after all). Added the carrots last and puréed them just a tad less so that there'd be a bit more color variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Delicious and fun to play around with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States