Cream of Cauliflower Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
YUM-this was delicious! It's a little work, but definitely worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
The only reason this is not rated higher is because I really did not like the tarragon/thyme seasonings. That is probably just personal preference, but it really put me off to the point that I didn't even finish the bowl. That said, the taste and texture of the soup without those herbs was very, very nice. Because of some of the reviews and to save myself a shopping trip, I used 1 can of evaporated milk instead of milk and cream and about a third of the amount of swiss called for. Evaporated milk is very nice in soups like this, but I bet it would also be good with the heavy cream. I think the soup will be much more enjoyable with a different blend of herbs and I think I might experiment with cheddar cheese as well. It is a good recipe that I will definitely we trying again with revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I am making a return trip to Italy in just two short months and would like to "lose a few" before then. I am focused on finding recipes that are rich in flavor but low in carbs - this was perfect. It's just a beautiful and delicious first course soup, elegant in its simplicity! I didn't use any cheese at all (the soup was very good without it) and wonder if the flour was even necessary as I believe this would have been plenty thick and creamy without it. This is velvety smooth and mildly but pleasantly flavored. I finished each serving with a sprinkling of chopped green onion and a drizzle of white truffle oil, which took this over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I have to say this is the first cauliflower soup I've tried to make on my own. I tried this in a local restaurant and fell in love with it!!! So I came upon this recipe and couldn't wait to try it. I left out the white wine. I just added more chicken stock for more liquid. I used skim milk since there's already cream and instead of Swiss cheese I wanted to use half cheddar and half pepper jack since that's what the restaurant uses in there cauliflower soup. We loved this and I will be making this again soon. It was great with whole wheat french bread to dip!!!!! Yummmy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
We thought this was an upscale delicious cauliflower soup. Did not change a thing. Fantastic with homemade french bread. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I really liked this recipe, I tweaked it a bit, of course. I didn't have any wine so I had to skip that step, I'm sure it would have been a nicer soup had I been able to add it. I added a dash of pepper flakes for a tinsy bit of warmth and a bit more seasoning than called for, including a bay leaf. I am wondering if it would freeze alright, considering the cheese in the soup...?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thehotzip
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Excellent soup, I topped it off with some grated old cheddar cheese. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I was not very impressed with this soup. I did everything except for add the flour and milk at the end. It was good, but nothing amazing. I will not make this again as I think there are better methods for preparing cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
OMG - yum. I made some substitutions too: 5 baked potatoes, peeled instead of leeks, 2-3 Tbsp cream cheese instead of heavy cream, 2 splashes cooking sherry instead of white wine. I threw in some cooked, chopped chicken breast at the end. It would also be great with tortellini or chunky croutons. Yum, yum. My kids even asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. Two tips: use a dry white wine and forget the milk and cream. The key is in the seasonings. I used a parmesan and romano cheese and herb seasoning. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States