Cream of Cauliflower Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I had only had Cream of Cauliflower soup once in my life about seven years ago in Scotland. It was so delicious and I bragged about it for years. Since we are growing fresh cauliflower in our garden, my husband suggested I try to make some. Not only was it simple, but out of this world. Should you happen to get ahold of some home grown cauliflower, that is definitely the way to go. Our neighbors said they've never had anything like it and bragged for hours. I don't cook with unsalted butter, so, I used salted which didn't seem to hurt it. I, too, used extra cauliflower and I did not use the cheese...didn't need it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2003
We found this to be wonderful with fresh local autumn cauliflower. Did not puree it much the second time...just used a potato masher in the pot a little bit. We liked the texture. Instead of Swiss, I used a cheddar with garlic, just because it's what I had, very successfully. Kids liked it, too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
Omitted the milk and cream. Instead, used 4 oz cream cheese. I also did not use swiss cheese on top. Very gourmet tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This is the most flavourful Cauliflower soup recipe I have ever made. Much better than Joy of Cooking, which I usually make. Changes? Only had 1/2 cup of white wine,and only used 1 cup of shredded mozzarella cheese and it didn't seem to hurt the end result at all. This soup rocks.Thank you Holly ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Dawe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This was very nice. The wine gave it a good taste, but I felt it needed more spices so I added more tarragon and some garlic salt, too. It came out a little thin even though I used cheese which thickened it some. It was overall nice though, will make again. UPDATE: This is my second time making this soup and this time I doubled the amount of cauliflower and it came out nice and thick. Mmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Very Good. I scaled down the milk/whipping cream liquid to 1 c. half & half for the right consistency for me. My opinion is that another c. would have made the soup too watery. Start off with half and add to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and when it was finished and I tasted it I was about to give it 2 stars for INCREDIBLE BLANDNESS. I wasn't serving it that day and the next day when I tried it - the soup was delicious. I would suggest that you purchase the Largest cauliflower that you can find since the 8 cups of liquid that it calls for can over power the taste of the vegetables. Thank you submitter - it is freezing outside today and I can't wait to go home and have some more soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This soup has a great base that worked beautifully. The grown-ups enjoyed the soup, but the flavor I ended up with was definitely not kid-friendly. I made the following adjustments: 2 leeks and no onion; used half-and-half instead of cream/ did not steam the cauliflower and just added it raw to cook in the broth; served with chedder cheese as a garnish. I loved it! The result was a rich, yummy, and unexpected cream soup. Next time, I think I'll keep the leeks, cut back on the milk, make sure my wine is really dry, use swiss cheese and garnish with hot pepper for those that want more flavor. Thanks for inspiring me to put my least favorite veggies to good use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheri O.
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I would rate this soup a 3.5. It seemed to be lacking some flavor. I needed to add a bunch of salt and some extra sharp cheddar to add flavor. I think next time I will use salted butter, add some garlic and crushed red pepper with the onions. I will also caramelize the onions for added depth. I'm not sure how this will mix with the thyme and tarragon but it seems to be lacking a bolder flavor. If these modifications don't work I will try some fresh basil. And definitely puree all of the soup, otherwise the whole vegetables are left lacking for flavor. This is a great start to a potentially superb soup. Oh, and definitely cut down on the liquid. I cut the broth down to 4 cups and didn't steam the cauliflower ahead of time but let it soften in the broth to keep the flavor in the soup base and not left in a steamer. I also used all cream hoping this would bolden the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
This was very tasty. Did not add the cheese. It seemed rich enough without it. Also, used less chicken broth than called for because it seemed like alot for the amount of cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States