Cream of Cauliflower Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This was absolutely awesome!!! 5 star restaurant quality. Great flavor! Don't change anything. Use the swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bartlett, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Very good! The only ingredients I changed were I used 4 tbsp salted butter, 8 cups chicken broth, and 1 cup half and half cream instead of 1 cup each of milk and cream. I prepared all up until adding cream as directed the night before. The next morning I put the pureed soup in a crock pot and added the cream then and let it sit on low all morning for a work luncheon and had shredded cheese(I used med. cheddar) available on the side. I thought no need for any other spices other than tarragon and thyme, and the wine gave it a great flavour too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is sooo good. The wine adds such a nice flavour. I've made this on a few occasions and it just gets better every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkowal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I am hooked on this recipe! The only things I omitted was the milk and the carrot. I felt the heavy cream was enough for our taste. I doubled the recipe because I was sure that we would like it very much and I was right! The Thyme and Terragon added so much to this. I was able to use cauliflower and leeks from our veggie garden. This recipe is a keeper!!! I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
We loved this soup...my only tweaks were to not use tarragon (don't care for the flavor) ground some fresh nutmeg instead, and used about 1/2cup or so of the white wine (all I had left!) which I accidentally put in before the flour, so it acted more as a wonderful deglazing ingredient. Then I added the flour. Other than that...yummmmm :) The leftovers were even better the next day,,,you could really taste the flavor of both the leeks and wine. Thanks for the post! Oh, I forgot...did not use the cheese, not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeaky6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayonne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cinnaminson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Tried this today. Excellent. Lots of taste & easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This soup has a great base that worked beautifully. The grown-ups enjoyed the soup, but the flavor I ended up with was definitely not kid-friendly. I made the following adjustments: 2 leeks and no onion; used half-and-half instead of cream/ did not steam the cauliflower and just added it raw to cook in the broth; served with chedder cheese as a garnish. I loved it! The result was a rich, yummy, and unexpected cream soup. Next time, I think I'll keep the leeks, cut back on the milk, make sure my wine is really dry, use swiss cheese and garnish with hot pepper for those that want more flavor. Thanks for inspiring me to put my least favorite veggies to good use!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheri O.
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I would rate this soup a 3.5. It seemed to be lacking some flavor. I needed to add a bunch of salt and some extra sharp cheddar to add flavor. I think next time I will use salted butter, add some garlic and crushed red pepper with the onions. I will also caramelize the onions for added depth. I'm not sure how this will mix with the thyme and tarragon but it seems to be lacking a bolder flavor. If these modifications don't work I will try some fresh basil. And definitely puree all of the soup, otherwise the whole vegetables are left lacking for flavor. This is a great start to a potentially superb soup. Oh, and definitely cut down on the liquid. I cut the broth down to 4 cups and didn't steam the cauliflower ahead of time but let it soften in the broth to keep the flavor in the soup base and not left in a steamer. I also used all cream hoping this would bolden the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
I'm not a soup lover, but this was delicious and filling and satisfying. The dried herbs looked lovely floating in the creamy soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRIBE8FAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
A perfectly good soup, but not quite 5 star. The tarragon was too dominant, and although we like a variety of foods with spice, no one in our house was quite sold on this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States