Cream of Cauliflower Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
EXCELLENT! This was my first time making cream of cauliflower soup and it did not disappoint. The only change I made was to only use half a cup of cream and half a cup of milk. The consistency was perfect. Not too runny, but not too thick. Go ahead and add the Swiss cheese for some extra pazazz! Great recipe if you want to impress friends and family for a dinner party! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Delicious! I followed the recipe as close as I could with what I had on hand. I had to use frozen leeks instead of fresh, some cooking sherry as I didn't have enough white wine, and half-and-half instead of heavy cream. The cheese I didn't consider optional. :-) Those changes apparently didn't make much difference as the soup was wonderful. This will definitely go in my fall/winter meal rotation. Thanks for submitting, MARBALET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Very good recipe. My husband and I had cream of cauliflower soup at a restaurant a few months ago, and I have been looking for a recipe to make it. This is it!! I omitted the tarragon and leek (because I did not have any on hand), and simmered the soup for 45 minutes instead of 30. I omitted the milk and cream altogether because I liked the consistency and thickness of the soup without it. I added 1/2 cup white cheddar and 2 cups parmesan instead of the swiss. Absolutely amazing! When reheating the soup, it might be necessary to add some cream or half and half to thin it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Just made this soup. I had bought a head of cauliflower and then hubby had 6 teeth pulled and cannot chew. Rather than throw it out I happened to see the recipe and it is so good. My changes included someone who added small diced potatoes and celery and curry and I also included small chopped 1 cup of smoked center cut chopped ham and nutmeg. Husband loves it. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Apollo Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Just finished enjoying it! I made a few minor changes. I omitted the tarragon and cut the thyme in half - only because I have a very potent jar. I also substituted an additional cup of chicken broth for the white wine because I didn't have any. As far as the milk/cream addition, I added some cream cheese instead, as another reviewer mentioned. It came out fabulous with some crusty home made bread. Almost forgot, I also added a stalk of chopped celery. Didn't even need the cheese! I'm looking forward to the leftovers for lunch tomorrow... Thank you for a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee R.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
If you like curry in purred soups, add it! :) Gave it a wonderful flavor. I had to make a few changes since I didn't have a few ingredients on hand. I didn't have leeks or white wine. I only added 4 cups of broth. The trick is to have your heat up high enough and not add the broth took quickly. Let the soup thicken before you add more liquid or it will be very liquify. I used "I can't believe it's not butter light" and only added a tiny bit of salt at the end. I added a celery, about six fingerling potatoes (chopped up small and threw in after the cauliflower. They cooked nicely while the whole soup simmered) and one teaspoon of curry powder. I'm sure with my additions plus the white wine and leek this soup would be even more amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
This an amazing base for a great cream of cauliflower!! I like a thicker, creamier consistency. So my first try I only added 4 cups of veggie stock, half an onion, a few pinches of salt and garlic salt, and 1 1/2 cups of swiss cheese as I had a medium/small head of cauliflower. Next time I'll adjust the amount of veggie stock to the size/amount of cauliflower and add fresh garlic instead. Otherwise a very yummy cream of cauliflower soup!! Will definitely be a fall/winter staple. The swiss cheese definitely added a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivaJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I loved this soup! I made it exactly as the recipe stated and thought it was perfect. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Delicious! Made exactly as written, except used fresh herbs. Wouldn't change a thing, totally loved it, even my 4 yr old son!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States