Cream of Broccoli Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
This soup was delicious! I used frozen broccoli florets which made it a lot quicker to make. I used 2 cups of heavy cream because I didn't have any milk. Next time I will use a little bit more flour for thickening. This came out great and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
The main problem with this recipe is it doesn't tell you what to do with the broccoli! You cook it at the beginning, then it's never mentioned again in the directions. So I had to improvise. I used about 4 cups frozen broccoli florets and cooked them in the microwave. I then put about half in the food processor and minced them. I then dumped all the broccoli (florets and minced) in the pot at the end right before adding the cheese. Who knows if this is what the recipe writer intended, but my husband and I enjoyed it! It would probably also be good if you just pureed all the stuff together, though I liked the full florets. The only change I would make is to omit the celery. It doesn't add anything, and its flavor sticks out too much among all the other mellow blended flavors of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
It was great. but, I put 1 med. onion and used half and half and colby jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Awesome broccoli soup! I added corn starch to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I was looking for a cream of broccoli recipe that doesn't use a canned soup mix. This was a great and easy to make soup. I reduced the amount of heavy cream to 1/4 cup, but it still tasted rich and creamy. I added some carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
this was ok frozen broccoli and some sharp cheddar will make it much better fresh broccoli is too fragile for this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: White Hall, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Ok, I'm a tinkerer. I tripled the recipe and to this end I used 2 large (48oz)cans of chicken broth in place of some of the water and bulion cubes and then added another 48oz of water to boil the brocolli in. I also used four stalks of celery and 2 medium onions diced. My chef friend told me to add thyme and also pepper. For thickening I used 12T flour mixed with 12T melted butter before adding to the broth. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castorland, New York, USA
Living In: Glenfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This is very rich but tasty all the same. I didn't have bouillon so I cooked the broccoli in about 2.5 cups chicken broth and saved the liquid like suggested. I don't think heavy cream is necessary in this recipe. I used 2 cups whole milk and it was plenty rich. I might try reduced fat milk next time and see if I like it more. I just chopped up the cooked broccoli once it was cooled and added it after the cheese and liked the consistency. Also, if you don't have shredded mozzarella already, save time by cubing it instead of shredding, it melts pretty quickly in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Great soup! Even my 3 & 4 year old children ate it & I assure you they haven't eaten broccoli since baby food days! I added Thyme & omitted the celery. I will use sharp white cheddar next time, I think it needed a little "bite" to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Absolutely excellent. I only season mine with salt and pepper, and use vegetable broth instead of chicken, so it's completely vegetarian :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States