Cream of Broccoli Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I liked the recipe however the worstershire sauce gave it a strange taste. Didn't like it. Next time will fix without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This soup ROCKS!! I am not a fan Broccoli, but do like Broccoli Cheese Soup and this recipe is the Best! I had to use powdered milk instead of milk/cream that this recipe called for, but the taste was marvelous. I used a pressure cooker to soften the broccoli and continued as the directions indicated. I think I will double the recipe next time so I have some to put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Absolutely excellent. I only season mine with salt and pepper, and use vegetable broth instead of chicken, so it's completely vegetarian :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Great soup! Even my 3 & 4 year old children ate it & I assure you they haven't eaten broccoli since baby food days! I added Thyme & omitted the celery. I will use sharp white cheddar next time, I think it needed a little "bite" to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This is very rich but tasty all the same. I didn't have bouillon so I cooked the broccoli in about 2.5 cups chicken broth and saved the liquid like suggested. I don't think heavy cream is necessary in this recipe. I used 2 cups whole milk and it was plenty rich. I might try reduced fat milk next time and see if I like it more. I just chopped up the cooked broccoli once it was cooled and added it after the cheese and liked the consistency. Also, if you don't have shredded mozzarella already, save time by cubing it instead of shredding, it melts pretty quickly in the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Ok, I'm a tinkerer. I tripled the recipe and to this end I used 2 large (48oz)cans of chicken broth in place of some of the water and bulion cubes and then added another 48oz of water to boil the brocolli in. I also used four stalks of celery and 2 medium onions diced. My chef friend told me to add thyme and also pepper. For thickening I used 12T flour mixed with 12T melted butter before adding to the broth. Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castorland, New York, USA
Living In: Glenfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
this was ok frozen broccoli and some sharp cheddar will make it much better fresh broccoli is too fragile for this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dan

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: White Hall, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I was looking for a cream of broccoli recipe that doesn't use a canned soup mix. This was a great and easy to make soup. I reduced the amount of heavy cream to 1/4 cup, but it still tasted rich and creamy. I added some carrots too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Awesome broccoli soup! I added corn starch to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
It was great. but, I put 1 med. onion and used half and half and colby jack cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ashland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States