Cream of Broccoli Soup V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This recipe was excellent. I followed the recipe exactly except I added a bit more flour because I like my soups extra thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzimmermann8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Good but not the best..I liked it but not enough to make it again. I don't think mozzarella cheese is quite right for my idea of cream of broccoli soup but it might be for other people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I was looking for a soup that didn't use any "cream of" soups in it and came across this. I added a carrot in with the onion and celery just to get a little more veggie vitamins mixed in. I added half the broccoli to the soup at the end when it was simmering all together. I then put the soup in the food processor to smooth it out as I didn't want celery, onion or carrot chunks in it. I then took the other half of the broccoli and coarsely chopped it and added it to the pureed soup. It was excellent. My 1 1/2 year old loves broccoli so I figured this would be a big hit and it was! I like that it doesn't have an overwhelming amount of cheese and that it didn't use processed cheese either! ETA: I never use heavy cream, I used 2 1/2 c. milk and 1 1/2 c. half and half. I also use half butter/half olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This soup was so easy to make & very filling! I used 1/2 cup of cottage cheese (pureed) in place of the heavy cream for a lighter base. I used cheddar and mozza and added finely chopped zuchini and thin sliced ham. Since my broccoli was already steamed, it took about 20 minutes to prepare the soup before I served it for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Really good, made at the ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I enjoyed this recipe. I made a few changes however to make it more enjoyable to my household. I used 2 large carrots(grated) instead of the celery and cooked them in with the onion. I also substituted the heavy cream for milk to make the soup a bit lighter. You will need to add more flour to the recipe if you opt for using milk instead of cream if you still want the thickness. Once the broccoli, onion and carrot were cooked I put it all in my blender with the milk and pureed it, before putting it all back into the pot and then adding the stock and cheese. I also used old cheddar instead of mozza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I was really pleased with how this turned out. I chopped and simmered the broccoli in chicken stock, and after sauteing a red onion in butter and mixing in the flour, milk, and cream, I just dumped the whole boiling mess of broccoli and stock into the soup pot. I used a swiss/cheddar mixture because that's what I happened to have. Omitting the celery was a mistake - it would have subtly improved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This was really good soup. I made it exactly as the recipe said. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I liked the recipe however the worstershire sauce gave it a strange taste. Didn't like it. Next time will fix without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This soup ROCKS!! I am not a fan Broccoli, but do like Broccoli Cheese Soup and this recipe is the Best! I had to use powdered milk instead of milk/cream that this recipe called for, but the taste was marvelous. I used a pressure cooker to soften the broccoli and continued as the directions indicated. I think I will double the recipe next time so I have some to put in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOOLMOM84

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States