Cream of Broccoli Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Absolutely delicious, and low-fat too! And it was so quick and easy to make. I didn't have any celery, but otherwise followed the recipe, and it was great. Everyone asked for more! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This recipe was very easy and very tasty. However, it was on the thin side. Next time I will add a potato to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This recipe didn't strike big with me or my husband. Ours wasn't very flavorful and was very liquidy. Adding a potato to the recipe didn't seem to thicken it much. Topping it with mounds of cheese and lots of pepper helped, but I don't think we'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Very easy to make and a nice blend of vegatables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Soup was too thin & I only added 1 1/2 cups milk. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
When I make this soup, I add 1/2 cup minute rice when adding the broccoli. I also omit the salt and add i cup of grated smoky cheese when adding the milk. This thickens the soup and gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I love how this recipe turned out! I did make quite a few changes right from the get-go, though. First, I used about twelve cups of florets, three celery stalks, two grated carrots, and one onion. I cooked the veggies at medium heat for ten minutes, using a mixture of chicken broth and some leftover water from steaming vegetables earlier for dinner. I didn't puree all of the vegetables. I left about a cup and a half in their large chunks, since I like having something to chew. I also tripled the roux, in order to have a creamier soup. In the roux, I used a small can of evaporated milk, also for a creamier soup. Once the soup was in the final stages of simmering, I added about half a cup of shredded mozzarella and a half a cup of grated parmesan. It turned out wonderfully! I don't recommend salt and pepper at the outset. I would suggest that you allow the folks eating your soup to season for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Cupertino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This soup was a hit! It was so easy to make and tasted great! This recipe is a keeper =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Windsor, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I doubled this recipe added 4 potatoes.Very good, Jane Snider
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a great basic recipe. After I read others comments, It sounded like it was a little thin. So, I added a potato and added cornstarch to the skim milk and it was Great!!! Really thick and creamy. I also added just a little cheese to help also. Very health too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States