Cream of Broccoli Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I love how this recipe turned out! I did make quite a few changes right from the get-go, though. First, I used about twelve cups of florets, three celery stalks, two grated carrots, and one onion. I cooked the veggies at medium heat for ten minutes, using a mixture of chicken broth and some leftover water from steaming vegetables earlier for dinner. I didn't puree all of the vegetables. I left about a cup and a half in their large chunks, since I like having something to chew. I also tripled the roux, in order to have a creamier soup. In the roux, I used a small can of evaporated milk, also for a creamier soup. Once the soup was in the final stages of simmering, I added about half a cup of shredded mozzarella and a half a cup of grated parmesan. It turned out wonderfully! I don't recommend salt and pepper at the outset. I would suggest that you allow the folks eating your soup to season for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Cupertino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Absolutely delicious, and low-fat too! And it was so quick and easy to make. I didn't have any celery, but otherwise followed the recipe, and it was great. Everyone asked for more! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a great basic recipe. After I read others comments, It sounded like it was a little thin. So, I added a potato and added cornstarch to the skim milk and it was Great!!! Really thick and creamy. I also added just a little cheese to help also. Very health too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Yummy! I didn't find this soup 'thin' as others have reviewed! I followed it to a "T" and I think it's just perfect. It took me no time at all to make this soup. Very easy and very good. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Great soup, but I didn't think it was thick enough so I added 2 potatoes at the end and blended them in to give a nice thick and creamy texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
When I make this soup, I add 1/2 cup minute rice when adding the broccoli. I also omit the salt and add i cup of grated smoky cheese when adding the milk. This thickens the soup and gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This recipe was very easy and very tasty. However, it was on the thin side. Next time I will add a potato to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Very easy to make and a nice blend of vegatables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is a really fresh-tasting, good for you soup! I used slightly less chicken broth and milk than called for, and added two small red-skin potatoes that I had left over. Then at the end I stirred in about 1/4 cup of finely shredded parmesan, and about 1/2 cup of finely shredded mozzarella. Quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very delicious and healthy soup. I added the zest of a lemon. Lemon goes great with broccoli and the lemon zest smells great. Also added a little fresh oregano and parsley. I used a little less ff milk. The soup came out very good. I will make it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States