Cream of Broccoli Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Yummy! I didn't find this soup 'thin' as others have reviewed! I followed it to a "T" and I think it's just perfect. It took me no time at all to make this soup. Very easy and very good. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Good recipe, I left out the celery and I sautedd my onions first in butter and then add them. I like to add a teaspoon of honey dijon mustard to the soup. I shred my carrots and steam them as well as the broccoli before adding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is a really fresh-tasting, good for you soup! I used slightly less chicken broth and milk than called for, and added two small red-skin potatoes that I had left over. Then at the end I stirred in about 1/4 cup of finely shredded parmesan, and about 1/2 cup of finely shredded mozzarella. Quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbiana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
I love this stuff. End of story.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Very delicious and healthy soup. I added the zest of a lemon. Lemon goes great with broccoli and the lemon zest smells great. Also added a little fresh oregano and parsley. I used a little less ff milk. The soup came out very good. I will make it again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a great basic recipe. After I read others comments, It sounded like it was a little thin. So, I added a potato and added cornstarch to the skim milk and it was Great!!! Really thick and creamy. I also added just a little cheese to help also. Very health too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I doubled this recipe added 4 potatoes.Very good, Jane Snider
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This soup was a hit! It was so easy to make and tasted great! This recipe is a keeper =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Windsor, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I love how this recipe turned out! I did make quite a few changes right from the get-go, though. First, I used about twelve cups of florets, three celery stalks, two grated carrots, and one onion. I cooked the veggies at medium heat for ten minutes, using a mixture of chicken broth and some leftover water from steaming vegetables earlier for dinner. I didn't puree all of the vegetables. I left about a cup and a half in their large chunks, since I like having something to chew. I also tripled the roux, in order to have a creamier soup. In the roux, I used a small can of evaporated milk, also for a creamier soup. Once the soup was in the final stages of simmering, I added about half a cup of shredded mozzarella and a half a cup of grated parmesan. It turned out wonderfully! I don't recommend salt and pepper at the outset. I would suggest that you allow the folks eating your soup to season for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Cupertino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
When I make this soup, I add 1/2 cup minute rice when adding the broccoli. I also omit the salt and add i cup of grated smoky cheese when adding the milk. This thickens the soup and gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States