Cream of Broccoli Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
Absolutely delicious, and low-fat too! And it was so quick and easy to make. I didn't have any celery, but otherwise followed the recipe, and it was great. Everyone asked for more! Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
This recipe was very easy and very tasty. However, it was on the thin side. Next time I will add a potato to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
This recipe didn't strike big with me or my husband. Ours wasn't very flavorful and was very liquidy. Adding a potato to the recipe didn't seem to thicken it much. Topping it with mounds of cheese and lots of pepper helped, but I don't think we'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Very easy to make and a nice blend of vegatables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Soup was too thin & I only added 1 1/2 cups milk. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
When I make this soup, I add 1/2 cup minute rice when adding the broccoli. I also omit the salt and add i cup of grated smoky cheese when adding the milk. This thickens the soup and gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I love how this recipe turned out! I did make quite a few changes right from the get-go, though. First, I used about twelve cups of florets, three celery stalks, two grated carrots, and one onion. I cooked the veggies at medium heat for ten minutes, using a mixture of chicken broth and some leftover water from steaming vegetables earlier for dinner. I didn't puree all of the vegetables. I left about a cup and a half in their large chunks, since I like having something to chew. I also tripled the roux, in order to have a creamier soup. In the roux, I used a small can of evaporated milk, also for a creamier soup. Once the soup was in the final stages of simmering, I added about half a cup of shredded mozzarella and a half a cup of grated parmesan. It turned out wonderfully! I don't recommend salt and pepper at the outset. I would suggest that you allow the folks eating your soup to season for themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Cupertino

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This soup was a hit! It was so easy to make and tasted great! This recipe is a keeper =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Windsor, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
I doubled this recipe added 4 potatoes.Very good, Jane Snider
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This was a great basic recipe. After I read others comments, It sounded like it was a little thin. So, I added a potato and added cornstarch to the skim milk and it was Great!!! Really thick and creamy. I also added just a little cheese to help also. Very health too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States