Cream of Broccoli Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This recipe is exactly what I was looking for. I didn’t want the thickness, carbs or calories of a heavy cheesy soup as I’m on the diet from hell. I found this was a perfect solution for lunch. Packed with nutrients and very few carbs. Unlike others I didn’t find it to be too thin. You can’t make this thinking you’re making the traditional cream of broccoli cheesy soup. In my opinion it’s fabulous! Only change I made was add one additional carrot and used 1% milk to lower the fat. For those who still feel the soup is too thin for your taste add 1tbls of corn starch rather than the potato. Potato has around 30grams of carbs where the corn starch only has 7. Perfection in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
I used this recipe as a guide, because I needed to make my soup bigger for a big family, and adjust it for taste and ingredients on hand. My soup turned out so good all 5 of my older children ate it right up! I prefer smaller pieces of carrot so I shredded them (I used about 4 small) and then began sauteeing them in 1/4 c. butter while I chopped the (green) onion, garlic, and celery. After adding them, I poured in 4 c. potato water (reserved from the day before cause I hate wasting vegetable water!) and then added 1 TBSP chicken buillion. Added 3 small potatoes diced small along with about 6 c. chopped broccoli (including stem) and let it simmer for 20 minutes. I did not puree--just made sure everything was chopped tiny. I used 3/4 c. cream, 2 c. half/half, 1 1/4 c 2% milk. Heated that slowly and threw in a couple handfuls of shredded cheese. I sprinkled seasoned salt and black pepper lightly over top then stirred it all up. Even my pickiest eaters loved it. I have found THE recipe I needed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Divide, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Loved this soup. Did not change a thing,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
Very good! Doubled recipe. Added 4 cups Brocoli, 3 cups cauliflower, 1 1/2 cups carrots, 1 tsp onion powder, 2 cups cream & 2 cups milk. Then followed the rest of the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This soup is delicious! I tweaked it a bit by adding more celery, an extra garlic clove and a handful of baby carrots, but essentially stayed with the original recipe. It is easy and quick to make! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I love it, because I can make it in no time. Perfect "after work" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
It was okay, one of my two kids ate it. I thought it lacked taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyMaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
My family loved this soup. I will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Delicious comfort soup. I made a pot of this soup and have been taking this for lunch all week. I didn't have celery on hand so I didn't add to the soup. Still good. I like my soups chunky so I blended veggies just a bit. I will make this again especially with the Autumn season around the corner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This was very good. I like to try the recipe as it's written the first time, but I added three things. I added a T of cornstarch and one cubed red potato, skin and all, with the other veggies to thicken it. I used fat free milk and chicken broth since it didn't say, and I'm trying to keep it light. I also added a sprinkling of montreal steak shake for a little more flavor. I topped it with fat-free mozarella, and it was great. My husband liked it too, so this is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States