Cream of Broccoli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This is a five star recipe with my changes. I halfed the chicken broth to 4 cups and substituted heavy cream for the cream of mushroom. I also add dijon mustard to my cheese broccoli soup, it is the secret weapon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Yummy comfort food! Being vegetarian, I used veg broth. Also used cream of broccoli instead of mushroom soup. Used combination of shredded sharp cheddar and mixed shredded Mexican cheese blend. I finely diced half of the fresh broccoli before adding it to the soup (rather than using a blender) and the consistency turned out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
yum!. i cooked the brocooli in with the onion and broth etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I love this soup! It has a smooth texture and cheesy taste! Very easy and quick soup recipe! Leftovers are great too! I thickened with potato flakes like other reviewers as well-made it very quick and easy! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BaysMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Hill, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This is very easy, very tasty soup!! I cut down on the salt and used Chicken base unstead of chicken broth. I also slightly blended the broccoli...I will be making this recipe over and over again....Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
AMAZING. Just as good if not better than Panera's broccoli cheese soup. Creamy, cheesy and delicious. I used one can of chicken broth, 1 1/4 cup milk, 1 stalk celery, 1/4 of an onion, celery salt, salt and pepper, frozen broccoli (heated in microwave for 3 minutes), and just sharp cheddar cheese. Also, I didn't have cornstarch so I looked up the substitute and used 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This recipe was simple and very tasty. I used chicken bouillon cubes because I didn't have any chicken stock. I also used half and half cream as well as the mushroom soup and with my immersion blender this soup turned out fantastically creamy. I don't think that you have to follow this recipe very closely, it is very forgiving. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
My whole family, even the 2 yr old loved this soup. The only thing I added was one tsp of nutmeg. the nutmeg takes out the bitter broccoli taste. I have made this soup several times and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I made this soup for a large group and had all compliments and several requests for the recipe. I used a suggestion from another member to use instant potatoes instead of cornstarch. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Easy & tastes great. Used mashed potatoes to thicken, instead of cornstarch. Used cooked frozen brocolli with cauliflower. Will make again. Thanks, CD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States