Cream of Broccoli Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This soup was fantastic! I followed the recipe very closely with the exception of two things... first, I added a little carrot with the boiling veggies and second, the cream of mushroom. I didn't have any, so I used cream of chicken instead. The only thing I would do differently would be to grind the celery, carrot and onion so they end up finer. My kids were picking at them a little and didn't really want to eat them. Aside from that, grab some fresh bread and enjoy this creamy bowl of amazing soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This was great! I didn't have enough chicken broth, I only had 5 cups so I put in a can of cream of chicken and that worked! Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Everyone liked this. Even my picky kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I've had better. Didn't like the texture and adding a can of ready-soup isn't "from scratch" like I was looking for. At least it was an easy recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Strathclair, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Brandon, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
This soup turned out thinner than I expected, but had a great flavor. In retrospect, it was a little too salty. Next time, I will add salt incrementally instead of blindly following the recipe. I blanched the broccoli, which turned out great. I boiled the florets for two minutes, then placed them in a bowl filled with ice water. My family enjoyed this soup, though we prefer it to be thicker. If you also like a thicker soup, just add additional cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grave Flower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunlap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Really good as-is or blended, which is what my kids prefer. Also amazing with some sour cream mixed in! We used vegetable broth and I eyeballed the amounts of onion and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe was a hit...no - a "homerun" according to my 1o year old son! I altered it a bit; after simmering the onions and celery and after the broccoli was done, I pureed the entire batch. No milk or cornstartch needed - they loved it as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I did not care for this recipe. All I could taste was the cream of mushroom soup in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
My whole family, even the 2 yr old loved this soup. The only thing I added was one tsp of nutmeg. the nutmeg takes out the bitter broccoli taste. I have made this soup several times and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States