Cream of Broccoli Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
My family absolutely loved this recipe! I did make some changes. I used way more than 4 cups of broccoli, I had brought 3 big bunches (almost 4 lbs.) and used all of it, also I kind of lost track of time and cooked it longer which was fine for us since we prefer our broccoli softer vs. crunchy. Cooked it in a big 6qt pot but still used 4 cups of broth. I also used vegetable broth instead of water, 1/2&1/2 instead of milk, and added a finely chopped garlic clove and 2 finely chopped carrots with the onion and celery. I had to use some of the liquid to puree the broccoli, so I thought it was going to end up too thick and I would need more liquid at the end, but it was actually an excellent creamy consistency. Thank you for such an excellent recipe and for the extra ideas in the many detailed reviews! I will be making this soup over and over and over!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Amazing soup - but I made a few changes. I used about 6-7 cups broccoli and instead of water I used chicken broth (5 cups) or so - enough to cover the broccoli while boiling. I put ALL the broccoli in the blender using some of the reserved stock. 1% milk worked great - and I did add garlic to the other veggies - cooked them for about 6 minutes. I also reserved 1/4 cup milk at the end and added it with about 1tbsp cornstarch to thicken. Season with salt and pepper - and this one's a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
although I did make changes I am rating this 5 stars. I omitted the ckn bouillon and used ckn broth for the water instead. I also sauteed a minced garlic clove in with my onion/celery. I pureed/chopped ALL of the cooked broccoli in my food processor before adding it back into the soup. I added the cheese to the soup after it was thickened with the milk. I did hold out 1/3 c. of the milk because I wanted to make sure it would be thick enough. I added just short of a TBSP of cornstarch to that saved milk and stirred it into the soup for added thickness. I have never added nutmeg to my broccoli soup and I think this addition is quite a pleasant surprise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne Oberlin Rutkowski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Simple and delicious soup. I used half and half instead of whole milk and it was nice and creamy and I think anything less would of made this "runny". I also suggest taking your time and maybe preparing this an hour or so before the rest of dinner 'cause the flavors really settle in. Thanks so much and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This recipe was delicious! I made a few changes, ommitting the milk and flour and substituting 1 cup cream. (low carb diet) And instead of dirtying the food processor I added some broccoli, used a hand blender, then added more chunks. As other reviewers suggested, I would add much more cheese next time. And one with lots of flavor, like a sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is the perfect soup. My 11 month old daughter was like a little bird flapping her arms and opening her mouth when I fed her this soup and she literaly licked the bowl clean. I mixed about 1 1/2 cups of shredded cheese into the soup while it was still on the burner. This helped thicken the soup and added to the savorieness of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Best thing about this soup is that the broccoli is not over cooked, which gives the soup a garden fresh taste. I will also put asparagus, zucchini, and green bell pepper in the soup with the broccoli. I also use the parts of the veggies that you wouldn't normally eat. Like the stalk on the broccoli and the ends on asparagus and put those parts in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I phill hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
This soup was delicous! I felt it needed quite a bit of salt, pepper, garlic salt and seasoning salt, which I added, and it was great! Yummy, warm and healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Absolutely fantastic taste, texture and prep. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I really liked this!!! I only used half an onion and probably will use less celery next time or chop it very fine. I didn't puree any of the broccoli, I just chopped it very fine and then added bigger chunks of. I used 1c. Skim Milk, 1c. Light evaporated milk, and 1/2 c. Heavy cream. Extra cheese was added as well as salt. It did need some salt. I also didn't use chicken boullion, but substituted with 2 TBSP canned chicken broth. Overall an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States