Cream of Broccoli Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Very good recipe. Would have been better with half and half though. I used chicken soup base instead of bouillon for a richer flavor. I increased the servings 40 with no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was pretty good. I made a couple changes as it was very bland when it was done. I added 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese. It added needed salt and some cheese flavor. I also used 1/2 whole milk and 1/2 skim. Next time I will use 3/4 skim because I never noticed the difference and I didn't feel that guilty eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Just "okay". Prep took much longer than 20 minutes since the soup didn't seem to thicken very quickly. Eventually, I needed to add some cornstarch to aid. Also, you don't need the full 2 1/2 cups of milk. I only used 2 and it still wasn't as thick as I expect from a cream soup. Needs more flavor. Possibly more boullion? Could do without the nutmeg as well. Kids loved it. Hubby doesn't need me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I was dissapointed in this recipe. I expected it to be much better from all the reviews. It was watery and needed far more broccoli. I had to run to the grocery store to buy more broccoli and cornstarch to thicken it up. Just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENIO67
Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I really didn't care for this recipe too much. It was just ok, not what I expected, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbsBerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Capitola, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Very tasty! I made a few modifications: I added two diced carrots and a little extra celery. I skipped the flour as I'm gluten-intolerant. I also added some crushed red pepper flakes, coarse salt, and fresh cracked pepper to the veggies. I think I also went a bit heavy on the broccoli. I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk and thickened the soup at the end with grated cheddar. Awesome, hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Great soup! I think next time I will process all of the broccoli for a less chunky texture. I did add extra cheese, and mixed it in while still over heat. A little bit of salt and it was fabulous. Definitely will be in my "comfort foods" file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmelanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Very good recipe. I blended the entire batch and added a little seasoning salt at the end. The flavors do get better after the soup sits for about an hour. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was just ok for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Easy, creamy, and yummy. Perfect autumn dinner with some nice sour dough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States