Cream of Broccoli Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
It's good a healthy, lower calorie soup. If we weren't dieting I'd have to beef it up to a broccoli cheese soup. It just seems to be a bit to green tasting for us. I used chicken broth, extra garlic, carrots, red pepper, extra onion, onion salt.....and still can't get up to 4 stars. I probably would have enjoyed a plate of steamed broccoli more and done a lot less work. We will eat it but, might have trouble getting thru the whole pot. Thank you for the recipe. It's just not what I had hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
For all the work to putting this together, both hubby and I thought this soup was tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
It was pretty good, although not quite as thick as I like my soups to be. I cooked the broccoli in chicken broth instead of water and added a full two cups of shredded cheese (I pictured it being more cheesy). The real test will come in the next few days when we see if the left overs get eaten or tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I made this on Christmas and we LOVED IT! It was just as good reheated the next day. The only thing I did differently to this was added about an extra 1/4 cup of flour to thicken it a little more and salt to taste. I also mixed in a little shredded mozzarela along with the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Kane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This soup was delicious! Followed recipe exactly and used half and half cream as recommended for a richer, creamier soup. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Waterford, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
I made this for a friend today and he texted me and said "thank you for letting me experience this amazing taste"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Loved it, did add carrots. Family really enjoyed this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cedarcreekcottage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
My family loved this soup! Even the baby ate it all and had seconds :) I also added more broccoli and only blended the hard parts of the broccoli. Then I smashed/cut the florets. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This soup is delicious and easy to make. like many others I did make some adjustments but I think that is the whole point with dishes like soup. First I like to avoid glutens and wheat so I added finely ground almonds to the butter instead of flour. This is a trick I learned in a Butter Chicken recipe here on Allrecipies.com. Apparently in India they don't thicken with flour. I didn't bother adding the cheese. Feel free to play around with the recipe. No celery. That's ok. Want to add some salt.That's ok too. But the basic recipe is great !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great and versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States