Cream of Broccoli Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
My family loved this soup! Even the baby ate it all and had seconds :) I also added more broccoli and only blended the hard parts of the broccoli. Then I smashed/cut the florets. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This soup is delicious and easy to make. like many others I did make some adjustments but I think that is the whole point with dishes like soup. First I like to avoid glutens and wheat so I added finely ground almonds to the butter instead of flour. This is a trick I learned in a Butter Chicken recipe here on Allrecipies.com. Apparently in India they don't thicken with flour. I didn't bother adding the cheese. Feel free to play around with the recipe. No celery. That's ok. Want to add some salt.That's ok too. But the basic recipe is great !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Great and versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was excellent -- hard to believe that someone gave it 3 stars because it didn't have as much salt as they liked -- that's assumed salt to your taste in my book. I made almost as directed -- just decreased the milk by 1/2 cup because I like it a little thicker. I also added 12 oz of crawfish at the very end, but the soup was great before I did that -- just felt like I would like the soup with crawfish and a little heat ... and I did. I can see adding more veggies to this soup too .. thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I thought the soup was too runny for a "cream" soup, even after holding back 1/2 cup of milk. I added a Tbsp of corn starch and melted 2 cups of cheddar in the soup to thicken it up. I also thought there was plenty of broccoli. It just seemed to miss the mark for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krissy
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I only use one cup of whipping cream instead of milk. My 2 year old girl loves it a lot!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
It was like onion milk with broccoli in it. The soup never thickened and the nutmeg was a strange choice of spices. I made the recipe exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Made some changes to make more healthy and flavorful! 1) used low sodium chicken broth instead of water 2) added garlic and finely diced carrot (sometimes I will add in a yellow squash or a tiny bit of shredded cabbage or kale or leeks for additional nutrition without altering the taste) 3) Used fat free half and half + greek yogurt to thicken and make creamy 4) I typically omit the flour and use a bit of instant potato flakes 5) add red pepper flakes to taste 6) parmesan cheese or other hard sharp cheeses top off the dish! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNCOLLEGEGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Excellent! Use chicken broth instead of water, thickened with a bit of flour mixed with broth, pureed and then added evaporated milk and more broccoli florets and a little bit of cheese. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States