Cream of Broccoli Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I love this soup! Made some changes 1) used chicken broth instead of water 2) sauted a few cloves of chopped garlic before adding the onion mixture 3) added leeks and cooked them with the onion and celery 4) added diced potatoes during the addition of the chicken broth 5) Used 2% instead of whole 6) added cheddar cheese to the soup mixture during the final milk phaze as well as putting some on top for each serving 7) added garlic salt and extra pepper. I can't wait to have the left overs for lunch tomorrow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Very good recipe. Would have been better with half and half though. I used chicken soup base instead of bouillon for a richer flavor. I increased the servings 40 with no issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Van Kirk Moran

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Logan, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This was pretty good. I made a couple changes as it was very bland when it was done. I added 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese. It added needed salt and some cheese flavor. I also used 1/2 whole milk and 1/2 skim. Next time I will use 3/4 skim because I never noticed the difference and I didn't feel that guilty eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Just "okay". Prep took much longer than 20 minutes since the soup didn't seem to thicken very quickly. Eventually, I needed to add some cornstarch to aid. Also, you don't need the full 2 1/2 cups of milk. I only used 2 and it still wasn't as thick as I expect from a cream soup. Needs more flavor. Possibly more boullion? Could do without the nutmeg as well. Kids loved it. Hubby doesn't need me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I was dissapointed in this recipe. I expected it to be much better from all the reviews. It was watery and needed far more broccoli. I had to run to the grocery store to buy more broccoli and cornstarch to thicken it up. Just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MENIO67
Living In: Blairstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I really didn't care for this recipe too much. It was just ok, not what I expected, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BarbsBerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Capitola, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Very tasty! I made a few modifications: I added two diced carrots and a little extra celery. I skipped the flour as I'm gluten-intolerant. I also added some crushed red pepper flakes, coarse salt, and fresh cracked pepper to the veggies. I think I also went a bit heavy on the broccoli. I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk and thickened the soup at the end with grated cheddar. Awesome, hearty soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antrim, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Great soup! I think next time I will process all of the broccoli for a less chunky texture. I did add extra cheese, and mixed it in while still over heat. A little bit of salt and it was fabulous. Definitely will be in my "comfort foods" file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmelanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Very good recipe. I blended the entire batch and added a little seasoning salt at the end. The flavors do get better after the soup sits for about an hour. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was just ok for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Cajon, California, USA
Living In: Lakeside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States