Cream of Broccoli Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was excellent -- hard to believe that someone gave it 3 stars because it didn't have as much salt as they liked -- that's assumed salt to your taste in my book. I made almost as directed -- just decreased the milk by 1/2 cup because I like it a little thicker. I also added 12 oz of crawfish at the very end, but the soup was great before I did that -- just felt like I would like the soup with crawfish and a little heat ... and I did. I can see adding more veggies to this soup too .. thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I thought the soup was too runny for a "cream" soup, even after holding back 1/2 cup of milk. I added a Tbsp of corn starch and melted 2 cups of cheddar in the soup to thicken it up. I also thought there was plenty of broccoli. It just seemed to miss the mark for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by krissy
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I only use one cup of whipping cream instead of milk. My 2 year old girl loves it a lot!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
It was like onion milk with broccoli in it. The soup never thickened and the nutmeg was a strange choice of spices. I made the recipe exactly as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
Made some changes to make more healthy and flavorful! 1) used low sodium chicken broth instead of water 2) added garlic and finely diced carrot (sometimes I will add in a yellow squash or a tiny bit of shredded cabbage or kale or leeks for additional nutrition without altering the taste) 3) Used fat free half and half + greek yogurt to thicken and make creamy 4) I typically omit the flour and use a bit of instant potato flakes 5) add red pepper flakes to taste 6) parmesan cheese or other hard sharp cheeses top off the dish! enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNCOLLEGEGIRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Potter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Excellent! Use chicken broth instead of water, thickened with a bit of flour mixed with broth, pureed and then added evaporated milk and more broccoli florets and a little bit of cheese. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by UmmJennah
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I loved this soup, but I did have to adjust the recipe. -To give the soup a nicer color I added 1/2 tsp of turmeric, and 2 carrots. I boiled the carrots with the broccoli and then processed them. - I use chicken broth, not water. - I did not measure the broccoli I used but they were two large stalks. I processed the stalks and roughly chopped the florets. -And I added alot more cheese than is recommended, probably 1 cup instead of 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I used vegetable boullion cubes instead of chicken for a vegetarian version and it was absolutely delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Good base recipe with a few minor modifications - after reading a lot of reviews I used chicken broth instead of water and a combo of milk and half and half for richness. In my opinion, this needed more seasoning - I added quite a bit of salt. Also, for additional thickening near the end of cooking time, I stirred in appx 3/4 cup of instant mashed potato flakes - this worked for thickening as well as adding more flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Copycat Panera® Broccoli Cheddar Soup

Find out how to make the soup from your favorite cafe right in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States