Cream of Broccoli Cheese Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
We received this recipe from a friend as a wedding gift 25 years ago! We did make only two changes: in place of the egg noodles we use fettuccine pasta broken up into 3" pieces and Half and Half instead of milk which thickens it. The best judge, our three kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I gave this recipe a 5 star because I did change things around and don't believe its fair to rate a recipe that is changed! I made some changes for my liking and from other reviews. I omitted the pasta- not a pasta fan... I used 16 oz of velveeta cheese instead of the 12oz of American. I added two large potato's cubed, and 2 carrots sliced... Even with the extra ingredients I found the soup to be a little milky like other reviewers. This is possible from not adding the pasta. However!!! The taste was great! I suggest using a little thickening agent, or some potato flakes to thicken if you like your soup a little thicker. I would also add more potato's - 2 is not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLEE02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Taste better than it looks. The milkiness is quite a turn off, but the taste isn't bad. Was weird to have noodles in a broccoli soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I thought the recipe was easy to put together and tasted delicious. The only thing that was a turn off to me but not my family was it was too milky. It would be better thickened with flour. I wish I thought of it before i made such a large pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
Quick and Delicious! Everybody loves this soup and has asked for the recipe. I used Velveeta instead of American, and a med-lg onion instead of measuring. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I really liked this recipe, although I think I would use something like Velveeta cheese instead of others. The shredded cheese just doesn't melt completely. The overall taste of this recipe is good. I would try and use home made chicken broth instead of store bought as well. Always makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Absolutely WONDERFUL!! Served this recipe to 40 people and they all wanted to know where I got the recipe. I did triple the amount of egg noodles. Now I get requests for "Lisa's Broccoli Cheese Soup." (They still want to know who Lisa is!!! :-) A gave them the internet address.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
My 4 year old son ate this with a smile and asked for more!! Great recipe!! I substituted spaghetti (broken into 2 inch pieces) for the noodles and omitted the onions to make it even more kid friendly. I also nonfat dry milk powder because I was out of milk and it worked beautifully!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRIGERBER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sterling, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States