Cream of Asparagus and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Like most of us non-purists...I like to modify recipes to reflect personal preferences and on hand stuff. I'm also not cutting the stars down because I did. So, personally, I started by skipping the bacon...didn't want that texture in a creamy soup. Instead, I used previously reserved refrigerated bacon fat. Another recipe suggested a diced Jalapeno, which I added to the mushrooms, celery and onions plus a few cloves of Garlic and my homemade Seasoning Salt. I used the fresh Turkey Stock made from Thanksgiving detritus...though chicken would be better probably, Plus I don't peel the spuds. I used unsalted butter because like the Stock...it's what I had. The blending was a lot easier w/ a stick blender. Also less salty considering it's MY stock recipe, unsalted butter and my own Seasoning Salt. BTW...The soup is great w/ tremendous flavor. My guest loved it and I'm counting on it freezing well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
A but bland for my taste. I added some extra pepper to give it a bit of a kick and this helped somewhat. Not a bad recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Thanks for the awesome recipe - This one's going in my recipe box for sure! Made soup to use up abundant asparagus from garden. Going to freeze it for a cold winter day. Tasted so yummy, would like to say I can't wait for winter to eat it but, can't bring myself to say such silliness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Fantastic soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Dinner guests last week and wanted an easy delicious soup as a start to my meal...this soup was exactly what I needed...so delicious and flavorful. Did not change a thing. We real keeper. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I just made this soup it's awesome, made it exactly according to recipe, I am going to make this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is awesome! I used portabello mushrooms and added more than it called for as well as more asparagus. I did not have half and half and used skim milk, it tasted great! The bacon gives it that savory, delicious taste it needs. Thank you for such a yummy soup for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Excellent Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Watseka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
forgot mushrooms and half and half and it still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States