Cream of Asparagus and Mushroom Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Like most of us non-purists...I like to modify recipes to reflect personal preferences and on hand stuff. I'm also not cutting the stars down because I did. So, personally, I started by skipping the bacon...didn't want that texture in a creamy soup. Instead, I used previously reserved refrigerated bacon fat. Another recipe suggested a diced Jalapeno, which I added to the mushrooms, celery and onions plus a few cloves of Garlic and my homemade Seasoning Salt. I used the fresh Turkey Stock made from Thanksgiving detritus...though chicken would be better probably, Plus I don't peel the spuds. I used unsalted butter because like the Stock...it's what I had. The blending was a lot easier w/ a stick blender. Also less salty considering it's MY stock recipe, unsalted butter and my own Seasoning Salt. BTW...The soup is great w/ tremendous flavor. My guest loved it and I'm counting on it freezing well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
A but bland for my taste. I added some extra pepper to give it a bit of a kick and this helped somewhat. Not a bad recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Thanks for the awesome recipe - This one's going in my recipe box for sure! Made soup to use up abundant asparagus from garden. Going to freeze it for a cold winter day. Tasted so yummy, would like to say I can't wait for winter to eat it but, can't bring myself to say such silliness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Fantastic soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Dinner guests last week and wanted an easy delicious soup as a start to my meal...this soup was exactly what I needed...so delicious and flavorful. Did not change a thing. We real keeper. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I just made this soup it's awesome, made it exactly according to recipe, I am going to make this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is awesome! I used portabello mushrooms and added more than it called for as well as more asparagus. I did not have half and half and used skim milk, it tasted great! The bacon gives it that savory, delicious taste it needs. Thank you for such a yummy soup for a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Excellent Flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Watseka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
forgot mushrooms and half and half and it still turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

How to Make Cream of Cauliflower Soup

See how to make a creamy cauliflower soup garnished with bacon gremolata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States