Cream of Asparagus Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Good, easy recipe. This was the first time I had ever made cream of asparagus soup and it turned out great. I did end up pureeing it in my food processor a little bit, more for aesthetics than anything else, but might try it without doing that next time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Wow, this was such an easy yet enjoyable meal. Served to the family with grilled cheese with fried onion and tomato, and it was a meal fit for a king. Thanks for the ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Perfect! I like to use a little more half & half - you can use the fat free kind! AND I add 1 tsp of curry right at the end. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I followed the recipe as written with the exception of adding a chopped leek; the white part only; also I cut the asparagus into small nibs and pureed in a food processor a last step. Easy recipe came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Thought this soup was pretty good. I did use fat free half and half to save on some fat and calories, and still had good flavor. I'd probably make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
When I looked at this recipe, I thought to myself that it looked more like asparagus gravy than soup, but I figured I'd try it out because it looked pretty easy. I was right. This was basically a chicken gravy with asparagus. Don't get me wrong, it tasted great. My husband really liked it. But it was like eating gravy without the mashed potatoes. I won't make this again for a soup, but I think it would be great tasting over a baked chicken with some mashed potatoes. I'm going to try it that way next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
For an elegant touch, substitute 1/2 cup white wine for part of the chicken broth. Very, very good and very subtle. Be certain to puree in food processor. Save a few tips for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
I tried this but substituted vanilla soy milk & wheat flour for the rue and left out the chicken broth. I used the left overs to add to vermicelli pasta. They were both teerrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Very good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
I added garlic, onion, and white pepper, but there still just wasn't any flavor but butter, flour and asparagus. Good base recipe, but it really needs some doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States