Cream of Asparagus Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I really enjoyed this one...I used butter, onion, celery, 1/2 package of white mushrooms then sautéed for awhile then added the flour, cooked for awhile then added water, chicken boullion paste, a little salt, pepper,4 cloves of garlic, brought to a boil then added 1 lb asparagus. Cooked this for awhile then used an immersion blender to blend about a 1/3rd of it. Added about 3 cups of 2% milk, slowly brought back the heat and then added another lb of asparagus so it still a bit "crunchy" rather than "mushy". I did add the soy sauce which I find adds nice depth to creamed soups. Served with warm baguettes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by peeper burger

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Great result. Doubled entire recipe and used 4 cups of purchased chicken brothand 5 cubes of chicken bouillon and reduced the water to adjust liquid content, and, otherwise followed recipe. No additional salt needed with soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Never made cream of asparagus soup before. Looked up the excellent basic recipe today to cook all afternoon in my crockpot. Added garlic - because who wouldn't include garlic? Added second potato. Doubled asparagus. When I returned home this evening I could smell the wonderfulness outdoors ! Rather than make a roux to thicken, used my hand blender to thicken it with blended soup ingredients. Omitted half-and-half in recipe but stirred 1 cup sour cream into warm, blended soup before serving. It is a divine, luxurious, nourishing soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
And it freezes well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was good. Used soymilk instead of cream and all broth, instead of the water, as I had no boullion. Worked fine this way, but didn't have the same oomph as it would have, had I used cream. Knowing this, I popped in some feta at the end. Also, added 4 or 5 garlic cloves, as it just wasnt super flavorful without it. Good recipe that can be tweaked to suit your tastes and what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe. Very simple. Simple ingredients and easy to make. Wonderful flavor that every I have served this too has loved. I give this recipe five stars because not only have I made it over and over but have received requests for the recipe or folks remark about it later on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Davidson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Very nice, I tried to stick to the recipe so I could really taste it the original way. However, I do think by looking at the recipe there is too much salt so I did only use 2Tbps of ckn powder and only 1/2Tbp of soy sauce and I think it was perfect. Many said they used garlic(I usually always add it) but I didn't want to take away from the wonderful asparagus taste and it didn't need the garlic at all. I also used the hand blender and it worked fine except for a few pieces of the ends of some of the asparagus, so either cut those smaller than the rest of the asparagus or use blender next time.The only reason I used 4 stars is that I believe the recipe calls for too much salt. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Absolutely wonderful soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
So good!! Made it two nights in a row and have the recipe memorized by heart. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
SOOO Yummy. I've made it 4 times. Sometimes more chicken broth sometimes less, a little bit of bouillon powder to a little bit of water. It's just so easy and sooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cream of Asparagus Soup

See how to make creamy fresh asparagus soup.

Creamy Asparagus and Cauliflower Soup

This simple veggie soup tastes rich and creamy, but it's completely dairy-free.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States